AMF - Guide to the freezing of assets 2020

The guide from the Autorité des Marchés Financiers on asset freezing is a tool to support professionals in understanding the different regimes applicable in France with regard to asset freezing.

Indeed, several regimes coexist: UN and European regimes in the form of European regulations of direct application and a national regime provided for by the Monetary and Financial Code.

It provides information on:
the scope
- overview of the different applicable regimes
- a clarification of the scope of these regimes
- the obligations of professionals at each stage of the freezing process.

Guide : https://www.amf-france.org/sites/default/files/2020-07/guide-gel-des-avoirs_vf1.pdf

 

Reminder on the notion of asset freezing

Fight against the financing of terrorism: the rules on the freezing of assets clarified

In 2016, in order to strengthen the fight against the financing of terrorism, the General Directorate of the Treasury and the Prudential Control and Resolution Authority (ACPR) adopted joint guidelines on asset freezes decided by the UN, the European Union or the Government.

The asset freeze, an effective measure

The Prudential Control and Resolution Authority (ACPR) - General Directorate of the Treasury guidelines are part of the Minister's action plan to combat the financing of terrorism. Freezing measures are decided in the framework of international financial sanctions regimes by the United Nations Security Council and by the European Union in reaction to a violation of international law or in the context of the fight against terrorism.

The Minister of Finance and Public Accounts can also decide. Jointly with the Minister of the Interior. By decree, to freeze, on a national basis, the assets of persons or entities linked to terrorist activities.

The asset freezing measures notably oblige financial organizations to freeze the assets of persons or entities designated in a European regulation or an order, as soon as they are published in the respective Official Journal. They thus constitute an effective instrument in the fight against the financing of terrorism. By blocking the funds and resources of designated persons or entities as well as operations carried out for their benefit, freezing measures hamper the financing of terrorist acts.

Freezing obligations made easier for financial organizations

The joint ACPR-Directorate General of the Treasury guidelines specify the freezing obligations imposed on financial organizations (banks, insurance organizations, fund transmitters, money changers, crowdfunding intermediaries) subject to the control of the ACPR, and are an aid to the operational, diligent and effective implementation of freezing measures.

The ACPR / Tracfin guidelines relating to reporting and information obligations to Tracfin, are a pledge of the commitment of the Place de Paris to fight effectively against terrorism and its financing.

The register of asset freezes

Under Article L. 561-2 of the Monetary and Financial Code, persons subject to the fight against money laundering and the financing of terrorism are required to implement without delay the asset freezes pronounced by France. . In addition, European regulations on freezing assets on an autonomous basis in the EU or resulting from United Nations resolutions are applicable by all natural and legal persons.

In order to allow professionals subject to AML-CFT and the operators concerned to meet these freezing obligations, a national register of persons and entities subject to a freezing measure is established, in application of article R.562-2 of the Monetary and Financial Code.

This register lists all the persons, entities and vessels affected by asset freezing measures in force on French territory, in application of national, European and international (UN) provisions.

Virginie Gastine Menou
RISKS AND YOU

http://www.risquesetvous.fr/
https://www.linkedin.com/company/risques-et-vous

Share the article on the networks!

Articles recent:

en_USEnglish
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais es_ESEspañol

AMF – Guide sur le gel des avoirs 2020

Le guide de l’Autorité des Marchés Financiers sur le gel des avoirs est un outil pour accompagner les professionnels dans la compréhension des différents régimes applicables en France en matière de gel des avoirs.

En effet, plusieurs régimes coexistent : des régimes onusiens et européens, sous la forme de règlements européens d’application directe et un régime national prévu par le code monétaire et financier.

Il met à disposition des éclairages sur :
le champ d’application
– le panorama des différents régimes applicables
– une clarification du champ d’application de ces régimes
– les obligations des professionnels à chaque étape du processus de gel.

Guide : https://www.amf-france.org/sites/default/files/2020-07/guide-gel-des-avoirs_vf1.pdf

 

Rappel sur la notion de gel des avoirs

Lutte contre le financement du terrorisme: les règles sur le gel des avoirs explicitées

En 2016, afin de renforcer la lutte contre le financement du terrorisme, la Direction générale du Trésor et l’Autorité de Contrôle Prudentiel et de Résolution (ACPR) ont adopté des lignes directrices conjointes en matière de gels des avoirs décidés par l’ONU, l’Union européenne ou le Gouvernement.

Le gel des avoirs, une mesure efficace

Les lignes directrices Autorité de Contrôle Prudentiel et de Résolution (ACPR) – Direction générale du Trésor s’inscrivent dans le cadre du plan d’action du ministre en vue de lutter contre le financement du terrorisme. Les mesures de gel sont décidées dans le cadre de régimes de sanctions financières internationales par le Conseil de sécurité des Nations unies et par l’Union européenne en réaction à une violation du droit international ou dans le cadre de la lutte contre le terrorisme.

Le ministre des Finances et des Comptes publics peut décider également. Conjointement avec le ministre de l’Intérieur. Par arrêté, de geler, à titre national, les avoirs des personnes ou entités liées à des activités terroristes.

Les mesures de gel d’avoirs obligent notamment les organismes financiers à geler les avoirs des personnes ou entités désignées dans un règlement européen ou un arrêté, dès leur publication au Journal Officiel respectif. Elles constituent ainsi un instrument efficace de la lutte contre le financement du terrorisme. En bloquant les fonds et les ressources des personnes ou entités désignées ainsi que les opérations réalisées à leur profit, les mesures de gel entravent le financement des actes terroristes.

Les obligations de gel facilitées pour les organismes financiers

Les lignes directrices conjointes ACPR-Direction générale du Trésor précisent les obligations de gel qui pèsent sur les organismes financiers (banques, organismes d’assurance, transmetteurs de fonds, changeurs manuels, intermédiaires en financement participatif) soumis au contrôle de l’ACPR, et sont une aide à la mise en œuvre opérationnelle, diligente et efficace des mesures de gel.

Les lignes directrices ACPR / Tracfin relatives aux obligations de déclaration et d’information à Tracfin, sont un gage de l’engagement de la Place de Paris à lutter efficacement contre le terrorisme et son financement.

Le registre des gels des avoirs

En vertu de l’article L. 561-2 du code monétaire et financier, les personnes assujetties à la lutte contre le blanchiment de capitaux et le financement du terrorisme sont tenues de mettre en œuvre sans délai les gels d’avoirs prononcés par la France. En outre, les règlements européens portant gels des avoirs à titre autonome UE ou issus de résolutions des Nations Unies sont applicables par toutes les personnes physiques et morales.

Afin de permettre aux professionnels assujettis à la LCB-FT et aux opérateurs concernés de satisfaire à ces obligations de gel, il est établi un registre national des personnes et entités faisant l’objet d’une mesure de gel, en application de l’article R.562-2 du Code monétaire et financier.

Ce registre recense l’ensemble des personnes, entités et navires visés par des mesures de gel d’avoirs en vigueur sur le territoire français, en application de dispositions nationales, européennes et internationales (ONU).

Virginie Gastine Menou
RISQUES ET VOUS

http://www.risquesetvous.fr/
https://www.linkedin.com/company/risques-et-vous

Partagez l’article sur les réseaux !

Articles récents :

Nomination – Justine BERNADAT

Controleur lutte contre le blanchiment de capitaux et le financement du terrorisme (LCB-FT) chez Autorité de contrôle prudentiel et de résolution LinkedIn Proposer une offre de job :...

fr_FRFrançais
fr_FRFrançais en_USEnglish es_ESEspañol