CNIL / EDPD: draft guidelines on the concepts of controller and processor

The European Data Protection Board (EDPB) is an independent European body which contributes to the consistent application of data protection rules within the European Union and encourages cooperation between EU authorities responsible for data protection.

The European Data Protection Board is made up of representatives of national data protection authorities and the European Data Protection Supervisor (EDPS). In addition, there are the supervisory authorities of the EFTA-EEA States with regard to matters related to the GDPR, but without the right to vote and without the possibility of standing for election for the presidency or vice-presidency. The European Data Protection Board is established by the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR), and its headquarters are located in Brussels. The European Commission and - in matters related to the GDPR - the EFTA Surveillance Authority have the right to participate in the activities and meetings of the committee without the right to vote.

On September 2, 2020, the EDPS adopted first guidelines on the concepts of controller and processor, which are essential for the proper understanding and application of the GDPR. A public consultation is now open until October 19, 2020 to gather the opinions and contributions of all interested stakeholders.

The concepts of controller and processor play a crucial role in the application of the GDPR: in particular, they determine who is responsible for complying with data protection rules and how data subjects can exercise their rights in a meaningful way. effective. The GDPR clarified these concepts in relation to the state of the previous law and also provided for new obligations weighing on these actors.

These provisions, as well as recent rulings of the Court of Justice of the European Union relating to joint responsibility for data processing, raise many questions on the part of the organizations concerned: on the definition and scope of responsibility joint, on the respective obligations of these “co-controllers”, on the exact nature of the obligations incumbent on the subcontractors, etc.

It is therefore essential that the precise meaning of these concepts and their criteria are sufficiently clear and harmonized within the European Union. This is why the EDPS, which brings together the European CNILs, considered it necessary to adopt new guidelines, which are intended to replace the previous opinion of the "Article 29" working group on these concepts (WP169). This document aims to clarify the definition of the concepts of controller, joint controller, subcontractor, third parties and data recipient, by illustrating them with concrete sector examples. It also aims to detail the various obligations attached to these qualifications.

The CNIL encourages anyone interested to contribute to the public consultation organized by the EDPS.

Following this consultation and after analysis of the contributions received, the final version of the guidelines can be adopted by the EDPS. The CNIL will offer a summary of these on its website in order to allow the various players in the processing of personal data to better fulfill their obligations under the GDPR. These reminders and recommendations will thus make it possible to specify and supplement the advice that the CNIL already makes available to these actors, such as for example with regard to subcontracting.

How to participate in the consultation
https://edpb.europa.eu/our-work-tools/public-consultations-art-704/2020/guidelines-072020-concepts-controller-and-processor_fr

Guidelines for data controllers and processors - version for public consultation
https://edpb.europa.eu/sites/edpb/files/consultation/edpb_guidelines_202007_controllerprocessor_en.pdf

Virginie Gastine Menou
RISKS AND YOU

“Personalized support on the complex road to compliance”


https://www.linkedin.com/company/risques-et-vous

Share the article on the networks!

Articles recent:

IMF: Fiscal Monitor

Budget action to fight the COVID-19 pandemic
A roadmap for the budgetary measures to be taken during the different phases of the pandemic
Public investments for the recovery

en_USEnglish
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais es_ESEspañol

CNIL/CEPD : projet de lignes directrices sur les notions de responsable du traitement et de sous-traitant

Le Comité Européen de la Protection des Données (EDPB) est un organe européen indépendant qui contribue à l’application cohérente des règles en matière de protection des données au sein de l’Union européenne et encourage la coopération entre autorités de l’UE chargées de la protection des données.

Le comité européen de la protection des données se compose de représentants des autorités nationales chargées de la protection des données et du Contrôleur européen de la protection des données (CEPD). S’ajoutent les autorités de contrôle des États de l’AELE-EEE en ce qui concerne les questions liées au RGPD, mais sans droit de vote et sans possibilité de se présenter aux élections pour la présidence ou vice-présidence. Le comité européen de la protection des données est institué par le règlement général sur la protection des données (RGPD), et son siège se situe à Bruxelles. La Commission européenne et – pour ce qui est des questions liées au RGPD – l’Autorité de surveillance AELE ont le droit de participer aux activités et réunions du comité sans droit de vote.

Le 2 septembre 2020, le CEPD a adopté des premières lignes directrices sur les notions de responsable du traitement et de sous-traitant, essentielles à la bonne compréhension et application du RGPD. Une consultation publique est maintenant ouverte jusqu’au 19 octobre 2020 pour recueillir les avis et contributions de toutes les parties prenantes intéressées.

Les notions de responsable du traitement et de sous-traitant jouent un rôle crucial dans l’application du RGPD : elles déterminent en particulier qui est responsable du respect des règles en matière de protection des données et comment les personnes concernées peuvent exercer leurs droits de manière effective. Le RGPD a précisé ces notions par rapport à l’état du doit antérieur et a en outre prévu de nouvelles obligations pesant sur ces acteurs.

Ces dispositions, ainsi que des récents arrêts de la Cour de justice de l’Union européenne ayant trait à la responsabilité conjointe sur des traitements de données, soulèvent de nombreuses questions de la part des organismes concernés : sur la définition et la portée de la responsabilité conjointe, sur les obligations respectives de ces « co-responsables de traitement », sur la nature exacte des obligations qui pèsent sur les sous-traitants, etc.

Il est donc primordial que la signification précise de ces notions et leurs critères soient suffisamment clairs et harmonisés au sein de l’Union européenne. C’est pourquoi le CEPD, qui regroupe les CNIL européennes, a estimé nécessaire d’adopter de nouvelles lignes directrices, qui ont vocation à remplacer l’avis précédent du groupe de travail « Article 29 » sur ces notions (WP169). Ce document vise ainsi à clarifier la définition des notions de responsable du traitement, de responsable conjoint, de sous-traitant, de tiers et de destinataire des données, en les illustrant par des exemples sectoriels concrets. Il vise également à détailler les différentes obligations qui s’attachent à ces qualifications.

La CNIL encourage toute personne intéressée à contribuer à la consultation publique organisée par le CEPD.

À l’issue de cette consultation et après analyse des contributions reçues, la version finale des lignes directrices pourra être adoptée par le CEPD. La CNIL proposera un résumé de celles-ci sur son site web afin de permettre aux différents acteurs des traitements de données à caractère personnel de mieux remplir les obligations qui leur incombent en application du RGPD. Ces rappels et recommandations permettront ainsi de préciser et de compléter les conseils que la CNIL met déjà à disposition de ces acteurs, comme par exemple en matière de sous-traitance.

Les modalités de participation à la consultation
https://edpb.europa.eu/our-work-tools/public-consultations-art-704/2020/guidelines-072020-concepts-controller-and-processor_fr

Lignes directrices destinées aux responsables de traitement et aux sous-traitants – version pour consultation publique
https://edpb.europa.eu/sites/edpb/files/consultation/edpb_guidelines_202007_controllerprocessor_en.pdf

Virginie Gastine Menou
RISQUES ET VOUS

“Un accompagnement personnalisé sur le chemin complexe de la conformité”


https://www.linkedin.com/company/risques-et-vous

Partagez l’article sur les réseaux !

Articles récents :

Nomination – Elena Sokolovskaya

Risk & Fraud | Payments | Fintech LinkedIn Proposer une offre de job : https://graces.community/recruteurs/Consulter les offres qui vous correspondent : https://job.graces.community/login

fr_FRFrançais
fr_FRFrançais en_USEnglish es_ESEspañol