CNIL: Data controller and subcontractor: 6 good practices for respecting personal data

Since the entry into force of the GDPR, new obligations have been imposed on both data processors and data controllers.

The controls carried out by the CNIL, within the framework of priority control themes for 2019, have revealed a real awareness of the new obligations weighing on subcontractors with in particular the development by the subcontractors themselves of model contractual clauses, annexed to the subcontracting contract (also referred to as service provision contract).

This advice is a continuation of the subcontractor guide published by the CNIL in September 2017. Work is underway at the level of the European Data Protection Committee on the concepts of controller and subcontractor, which will make it possible to clarify and complete these first reminders.

1/ Determine the status of the actors involved

When an organization processes personal data on behalf of a data controller, it is considered to be its subcontractor within the meaning of the GDPR. This is also the case if it provides a “turnkey” solution, if this organization actually processes personal data (and is not, for example, only a software publisher).

Conversely, if the subcontractor also processes the data resulting from this processing for its own account (for example, for customer relationship management or accounting purposes), it will be considered as data controller for this. specific treatment.

CNIL advice

The client and the service provider each define their role on the basis of the applicable regulations (articles 4.7, 4.8 and 28.10 of the GDPR), by carrying out the analysis together, in order to then be able to agree on their respective obligations. .

This also applies to cases of subcontracting involving only one-off access to personal data (such as maintenance operations). Please note, this does not mean that the parties can together “choose” the qualification that suits them.

This clarification is essential to ensure legal certainty for both parties to the contract.

2 / Establish a clear contract

The controller and the subcontractor must enter into a contract including several mandatory information listed in article 28.3 of the GDPR. This should allow the parties:

- organize their relationships and their respective obligations with regard to the protection of personal data;

- integrate all of the information listed in article 28.3 of the GDPR, adapting them to their situation, and implement the obligations thus defined.

The following clauses constitute particular points of vigilance.

AT/ Define and supervise the treatment

The contract must clearly define the object, duration, nature and purpose of the processing, as well as the categories of personal data and the categories of data subjects. It is this definition which sets the framework of the processing for the subcontractor. In practice, the object of the processing will most often correspond to the activity of the subcontractor (for example, e-mail routing, data hosting, maintenance or support services).

Any processing operation not provided for in the contract should, in principle, be subject to prior renegotiation between the parties or at least written instructions from the controller.

B / Specify the conditions under which the subcontractor may himself use a subcontractor

The subcontractor can only recruit another subcontractor with the written authorization of the data controller (article 28 of the GDPR).

This authorization may be given to the subcontractor on a case-by-case basis, for each new subcontractor, or be general in scope. The CNIL recommends specifying in the contract which of these two authorization methods is chosen by the parties.

If the authorization is general in scope, the processor must inform the data controller of the list of its subsequent processors, as well as of any addition or replacement in this list, in order to allow it to object to it. he wishes it. In this case, the CNIL recommends entering into contractual arrangements for informing the principal and, possibly, the criteria for choosing these subcontractors.

The subcontractor must keep an up-to-date list of the subcontractors he uses in his register.

3 / Document the subcontracting activity

The data controller must ensure that his subcontractor complies with the GDPR. To do this, the contract must imperatively include a clause according to which the subcontractor makes available to the principal all the information necessary to demonstrate compliance with the obligations provided for in article 28 of the GDPR and to allow an audit by the data controller (or another auditor appointed by him).

In addition to concluding a subcontracting contract, the subcontractor must also:

- ensure that the instructions issued by the data controller are formalized in writing and record them in order to be able to demonstrate that they are acting on the instructions of the data controller;

- keep a register of processing activities carried out on behalf of the controller (article 30.2 of the GDPR);

- make available to the data controller all the information necessary to demonstrate compliance with his obligations and to allow audits to be carried out.

4 / Offer tools that respect personal data

The subcontractor must offer sufficient guarantees to meet the requirements of the GDPR (article 28.1 of the GDPR). It must offer solutions and tools that respect personal data.

It also has a role of assistance and advice with regard to the data controller. It must alert the data controller if it considers that an instruction it receives constitutes a violation of the applicable regulations regarding personal data.

For his part, the data controller must ensure that he uses services that include functionalities and technical tools that will allow him to ensure compliance.

CNIL advice

The following features can help the data controller to ensure compliance:

- an interface for collecting consent, in the event that the processing of personal data carried out by the data controller requires the consent of the end user;

- an automatic unsubscribe link, when the processing of personal data is based on the user's consent, in order to allow him to withdraw this consent at any time;

- an interface and an information model for people;

- an automatic purging system for data whose retention period has expired.

5 / Help the data controller to respond to requests for the exercise of personal rights

The subcontractor must help the principal in processing requests to exercise the rights he receives (access, rectification, erasure, limitation, portability) in accordance with article 28.3.e) of the GDPR. This assistance is all the more essential as the subcontractor is sometimes the best able to ensure the technical implementation of the follow-up to requests for the exercise of rights.

It is therefore important to organize, from the conclusion of the subcontracting contract, the terms of this assistance and to ensure that the solution provided by the subcontractor incorporates functionalities allowing these requests to be answered easily and quickly.

CNIL advice

It is possible to set up an interface for exercising individual rights, with a system for monitoring and automatically distributing requests for exercising rights according to their purpose.

This organization is all the more recommended as action must be given by the data controller to requests from persons exercising their rights as soon as possible, and in any event within one month of receipt. demand.

6 / Guarantee the security of the data collected

The data controller must call on a subcontractor who offers sufficient guarantees in terms of security. The subcontractor must ensure a sufficient level of security with regard to the nature of the data collected for the controller (article 32 of the GDPR).

In practice, the subcontractor plays a fundamental role insofar as, very often:

- it will ensure the effective implementation of the processing of personal data;

- it has the know-how and technical mastery of the marketed solution.

In the event of a data breach, the subcontractor must also help the data controller to fulfill his obligations to notify the CNIL and to communicate to the person concerned where applicable.

CNIL advice

It is recommended :

- require the service provider to communicate its information systems security policy;

- ensure and document the effectiveness of the guarantees offered by the subcontractor in terms of data protection.

For example, the parties can implement the following means (by contractually supervising them if necessary): safety audits, visit of installations, certifications of the organization, certification of the skills of the DPO.

Both the data controller and the processor can impose a contractual obligation of confidentiality on their employees and ensure that they are aware of the main principles of data protection.

It is also recommended that the controller and the processor impose a contractual obligation of confidentiality on their employees and ensure that they are aware of the main principles of data protection.

Finally, it is necessary to limit access to only those authorized by reason of their functions, and by distinguishing between the different operations that can be carried out on the data (consultation, modification, deletion, export, etc.).

> Recommendations for companies considering subscribing to cloud computing services
https://www.cnil.fr/sites/default/files/typo/document/Recommandations_pour_les_entreprises_qui_envisagent_de_souscrire_a_des_services_de_Cloud.pdf

> Subcontractor guide
https://www.cnil.fr/sites/default/files/atoms/files/rgpd-guide_sous-traitant-cnil.pdf

Virginie Gastine Menou
RISKS AND YOU

“Personalized support on the complex road to compliance”


https://www.linkedin.com/company/risques-et-vous

Share the article on the networks!

Articles recent:

en_USEnglish
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais es_ESEspañol

CNIL : Responsable de traitement et sous-traitant : 6 bonnes pratiques pour respecter les données personnelles

Depuis l’entrée en application du RGPD, de nouvelles obligations pèsent sur les sous-traitants comme sur les responsables de traitement.

Les contrôles réalisés par la CNIL, dans le cadre des thématiques de contrôles prioritaires pour 2019, ont mis en évidence une réelle prise de conscience des nouvelles obligations pesant sur les sous-traitants avec notamment l’élaboration par les sous-traitants eux-mêmes de modèles de clauses contractuelles, en annexe du contrat de sous-traitance (désigné également contrat de prestations de services).

Ces conseils s’inscrivent dans la continuité du guide du sous-traitant publié par la CNIL en septembre 2017. Des travaux sont en cours au niveau du Comité européen de la protection des données sur les notions de responsable de traitement et de sous-traitant, qui permettront de préciser et compléter ces premiers rappels.

1/ Déterminer le statut des acteurs impliqués

Lorsqu’un organisme traite des données personnelles pour le compte d’un responsable de traitement, il est considéré comme son sous-traitant au sens du RGPD. C’est également le cas s’il fournit une solution « clé en main », si cet organisme traite effectivement des données personnelles (et n’est pas, par exemple, uniquement éditeur de logiciels).

À l’inverse, si le sous-traitant traite également les données issues de ce traitement pour son propre compte (par exemple, à des fins de gestion de la relation client ou encore de comptabilité), il sera considéré comme responsable de traitement pour ce traitement spécifique.

Les conseils de la CNIL

Le donneur d’ordre et le prestataire de service définissent chacun leur rôle sur la base de la réglementation applicable (articles 4.7, 4.8 et 28.10 du RGPD), en menant l’analyse ensemble, afin de pouvoir ensuite s’accorder sur leurs obligations respectives.

Cela vaut également pour les cas de sous-traitance n’impliquant qu’un accès ponctuel aux données personnelles (telles que les opérations de maintenance). Attention, cela ne signifie pas que les parties peuvent « choisir » ensemble la qualification qui les arrange.

Cette clarification est essentielle pour assurer la sécurité juridique des deux parties au contrat.

2/ Établir un contrat clair

Le responsable de traitement et le sous-traitant doivent conclure un contrat incluant plusieurs mentions obligatoires listées à l’article 28.3 du RGPD. Cela doit permettre aux parties :

– d’organiser leurs rapports et leurs obligations respectives au regard de la protection des données personnelles ;

– d’intégrer l’ensemble des mentions listées à l’article 28.3 du RGPD, en les adaptant à leur situation, et mettre en œuvre les obligations ainsi définies.

Les clauses suivantes constituent des points de vigilance particuliers.

A/ Définir et encadrer le traitement

Le contrat doit définir clairement l’objet, la durée, la nature et la finalité du traitement, ainsi que les catégories de données à caractère personnel et les catégories de personnes concernées. C’est cette définition qui fixe le cadre du traitement pour le sous-traitant. En pratique, l’objet du traitement correspondra le plus souvent à l’activité du sous-traitant (par exemple, des prestations de routage d’emails, d’hébergement de données, de maintenance ou de support).

Toute opération de traitement non prévue dans le contrat devrait, en principe, faire l’objet d’une renégociation préalable entre les parties ou au moins d’instructions écrites du responsable de traitement.

B/ Préciser les conditions dans lesquelles le sous-traitant peut lui-même recourir à un sous-traitant

Le sous-traitant ne peut recruter un autre sous-traitant que sur autorisation écrite du responsable de traitement (article 28 du RGPD).

Cette autorisation peut être donnée au sous-traitant au cas par cas, pour chaque nouveau sous-traitant, ou avoir une portée générale. La CNIL recommande de préciser dans le contrat laquelle de ces deux modalités d’autorisation est choisie par les parties.

Si l’autorisation a une portée générale, le sous-traitant doit informer le responsable de traitement de la liste de ses sous-traitants ultérieurs, ainsi que de tout ajout ou remplacement dans cette liste, afin de lui permettre d’y objecter s’il le souhaite. Dans ce cas, la CNIL recommande de contractualiser les modalités d’information du donneur d’ordre et, éventuellement, les critères du choix de ces sous-traitants.

Le sous-traitant doit tenir à jour, dans son registre, une liste des sous-traitants auxquels il recourt.

3/ Documenter l’activité de sous-traitance

Le responsable de traitement doit s’assurer que son sous-traitant respecte le RGPD. Pour ce faire, le contrat doit impérativement comporter une clause selon laquelle le sous-traitant tient à disposition du donneur d’ordre toutes les informations nécessaires pour démontrer le respect des obligations prévues à l’article 28 du RGPD et permettre la réalisation d’audit par le responsable de traitement (ou un autre auditeur qu’il a mandaté).

Outre la conclusion d’un contrat de sous-traitance, le sous-traitant doit également :

– veiller à ce que les instructions délivrées par le responsable de traitement soient formalisées de manière écrite et procéder à leur recensement afin d’être en mesure de démontrer qu’il agit sur instruction du responsable de traitement ;

– tenir un registre des activités de traitement effectuées pour le compte du responsable de traitement (article 30.2 du RGPD) ;

– tenir à disposition du responsable de traitement toutes les informations nécessaires pour démontrer le respect de ses obligations et permettre la réalisation d’audits.

4/ Proposer des outils respectueux des données personnelles

Le sous-traitant doit offrir des garanties suffisantes pour répondre aux exigences du RGPD (article 28.1 du RGPD). Il doit proposer des solutions et outils respectueux des données personnelles.

Il a également un rôle d’assistance et de conseil à l’égard du responsable de traitement. Il doit alerter le responsable de traitement s’il estime qu’une instruction qu’il reçoit constitue une violation de la réglementation applicable en matière de données personnelles.

Pour sa part, le responsable de traitement doit veiller à recourir à des services qui incluent des fonctionnalités et outils techniques qui lui permettront d’assurer sa conformité.

Les conseils de la CNIL

Les fonctionnalités suivantes peuvent aider le responsable de traitement à assurer sa conformité :

– une interface de recueil du consentement, dans l’hypothèse où le traitement de données personnelles mis en œuvre par le responsable de traitement requiert le consentement de l’utilisateur final ;

– un lien de désinscription automatique, lorsque le traitement de données personnelles est fondé sur le consentement de l’utilisateur, afin de lui permettre de retirer ce consentement à tout moment ;

– une interface et un modèle d’information des personnes ;

– un système de purge automatique des données dont la durée de conservation est arrivée à son terme.

5/ Aider le responsable de traitement à répondre aux demandes d’exercices des droits des personnes

Le sous-traitant doit aider le donneur d’ordre dans le traitement des demandes d’exercice des droits qu’il reçoit (accès, rectification, effacement, limitation, portabilité) conformément à l’article 28.3.e) du RGPD. Cette assistance est d’autant plus essentielle que le sous-traitant est parfois le plus à même d’assurer la mise en œuvre technique des suites apportées aux demandes d’exercice des droits.

Il est donc important d’organiser, dès la conclusion du contrat de sous-traitance, les modalités de cette assistance et de veiller à ce que la solution fournie par le sous-traitant intègre des fonctionnalités permettant de répondre à ces demandes facilement et rapidement.

Les conseils de la CNIL

Il est possible de mettre en place une interface d’exercice des droits des personnes, avec un système de suivi et de répartition automatique des demandes d’exercice des droits en fonction de leur objet.

Cette organisation est d’autant plus recommandée qu’une suite doit être donnée par le responsable de traitement aux demandes des personnes exerçant leurs droits dans les meilleurs délais, et en tout état de cause dans un délai d’un mois à compter de la réception de la demande.

6/ Garantir la sécurité des données collectées

Le responsable de traitement doit faire appel à un sous-traitant qui présente des garanties suffisantes en termes de sécurité. Le sous-traitant doit, quant à lui, assurer un niveau de sécurité suffisant au regard de la nature des données collectées pour le responsable de traitement (article 32 du RGPD).

En pratique, le sous-traitant joue un rôle fondamental dans la mesure où, bien souvent :

– il assurera la mise en œuvre effective des traitements de données personnelles ;

– il détient le savoir-faire et la maîtrise technique de la solution commercialisée.

En cas de violation de données, le sous-traitant doit également aider le responsable de traitement, à remplir ses obligations de notification à la CNIL et de communication à la personne concernée le cas échéant.

Les conseils de la CNIL

Il est recommandé :

– d’exiger la communication par le prestataire de sa politique de sécurité des systèmes d’information ;

– d’assurer et de documenter l’effectivité des garanties offertes par le sous-traitant en matière de protection des données.

Par exemple, les parties peuvent mettre en œuvre les moyens suivants (en les encadrant contractuellement si nécessaire) : audits de sécurité, visite des installations, certifications de l’organisme, certification des compétences du DPO.

Le responsable de traitement comme le sous-traitant peuvent imposer à leurs employés une obligation contractuelle de confidentialité et s’assurer que ceux-ci sont sensibilisés aux grands principes de la protection des données.

Il est également recommandé au responsable de traitement et au sous-traitant d’imposer à leurs employés une obligation contractuelle de confidentialité et de s’assurer que ceux-ci sont sensibilisés aux grands principes de la protection des données.

Il est nécessaire, enfin, de limiter les accès aux seules personnes habilitées en raison de leurs fonctions, et en distinguant les différentes opérations qui peuvent être effectuées sur les données (consultation, modification, suppression, export, etc.).

>Recommandations pour les entreprises qui envisagent de souscrire à des services de Cloud computing
https://www.cnil.fr/sites/default/files/typo/document/Recommandations_pour_les_entreprises_qui_envisagent_de_souscrire_a_des_services_de_Cloud.pdf

>Guide du sous-traitant
https://www.cnil.fr/sites/default/files/atoms/files/rgpd-guide_sous-traitant-cnil.pdf

Virginie Gastine Menou
RISQUES ET VOUS

“Un accompagnement personnalisé sur le chemin complexe de la conformité”


https://www.linkedin.com/company/risques-et-vous

Partagez l’article sur les réseaux !

Articles récents :

Nomination – Elena Sokolovskaya

Risk & Fraud | Payments | Fintech LinkedIn Proposer une offre de job : https://graces.community/recruteurs/Consulter les offres qui vous correspondent : https://job.graces.community/login

fr_FRFrançais
fr_FRFrançais en_USEnglish es_ESEspañol