CNIL: Website, cookies and other tracers

Cookies and other tracers: the CNIL publishes amending guidelines and its recommendation

The CNIL has adopted amending guidelines as well as a recommendation on the use of cookies and other tracers. The evolution of the applicable rules marks a turning point for Internet users, who will now be able to exercise better control over online tracers.

Article 82 of the Data Protection Act transposes into French law Article 5.3 of Directive 2002/58 / EC "privacy and electronic communications" (or "ePrivacy"). In particular, it provides for the obligation, with some exceptions, to obtain the consent of Internet users before any operation of writing or reading cookies and other tracers.

I-The main stages

In 2013, the CNIL adopted a first recommendation to guide the players in the implementation of the texts governing at the time reading and writing operations by cookies.

On May 25, 2018, the entry into force of the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) reinforced the requirements for the validity of consent, rendering part of this recommendation obsolete.

As part of its action plan on advertising targeting, the CNIL has therefore undertaken to update its reference frameworks in two stages.

On July 4, 2019, the CNIL thus adopted guidelines recalling the applicable law. These were adjusted on September 17, 2020 to draw the consequences of the decision rendered on June 19, 2020 by the Council of State.

At the same time, the CNIL also decided to draw up a draft recommendation, following consultation with professionals and civil society. Without being prescriptive, the recommendation acts as a practical guide intended to enlighten the actors using tracers on the concrete methods of obtaining the consent of the Internet user.

This project was submitted, on January 14, to a public consultation, whose contributions made it possible to enrich the version finally adopted on September 17, 2020.

II-Evolution of the applicable rules

The evolution of the applicable rules, clarified by the guidelines and the recommendation, marks a turning point both for the online advertising sector and for Internet users, who will now be able to exercise better control over online tracers.

A- The main principles confirmed by the CNIL

> Regarding user consent:

- the simple pursuit of navigation on a site can no longer be considered as a valid expression of the Internet user's consent;

- people must consent to the deposit of tracers by a clear positive act (such as clicking on "I accept" in a cookie banner). If they do not do so, no tracer that is not essential to the operation of the service can be placed on their device.

> Users should be able to withdraw their consent easily and at any time.

> Refusing tracers should be as easy as accepting them.
In addition to this, you need to know more about it.
> Regarding information to individuals:

- they must be clearly informed of the purposes of the tracers before consenting, as well as the consequences which attach to an acceptance or rejection of tracers;

- they must also be informed of the identity of all actors using tracers subject to consent.

> Organizations operating tracers must be able to provide, at any time, proof of valid collection of the user's free, informed, specific and unambiguous consent.

B-Tracers exempted from the collection of consent

However, certain tracers are exempt from the collection of consent, such as, for example, tracers intended for authentication with a service, those intended to keep in memory the content of a shopping cart on a merchant site, certain tracers intended to generate traffic statistics, or those allowing paid sites to limit free access to a sample of content requested by users.

C-CNIL recommendations

In addition, the CNIL recommends that the interface for collecting consent not only include an “accept all” button but also a “refuse all” button.

It suggests that websites, which generally retain consent to tracers for a certain period of time, also retain Internet users' refusal for a certain period, so as not to question the Internet user again on each of his visits.

In addition, so that the user is fully aware of the scope of his consent, the CNIL recommends that, when tracers allow monitoring on sites other than the site visited, consent be collected on each of the sites concerned by this monitoring. navigation.

In order to answer questions from stakeholders and Internet users, the CNIL offers an FAQ to support the publication of the guidelines and the recommendation.

III-Towards compliance of the actors concerned

The CNIL invites all the players concerned to ensure that their practices comply with the requirements of the GDPR and the ePrivacy directive.

As it had announced, it estimates that the deadline for compliance with the new rules should not exceed six months, i.e. at the end of March 2021 at the latest.

While the CNIL will take into account the operational difficulties of operators during this period during which it will privilege support on controls, it reserves the right, in accordance with the case law of the Council of State, to prosecute certain breaches, particularly in the event of particularly serious breach of the right to respect for private life (CE, 16 October 2019, n ° 433069, Rec.). In addition, the CNIL will continue to pursue breaches of the rules relating to cookies prior to the entry into force of the GDPR, informed by its recommendation of December 5, 2013.

https://www.cnil.fr/fr/cookies-et-autres-traceurs-la-cnil-publie-des-lignes-directrices-modificatives-et-sa-recommandation

Virginie Gastine Menou
RISKS AND YOU

“Personalized support on the complex road to compliance”


https://www.linkedin.com/company/risques-et-vous

Share the article on the networks!

Articles recent:

en_USEnglish
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais es_ESEspañol

CNIL : Site web, cookies et autres traceurs

Cookies et autres traceurs : la CNIL publie des lignes directrices modificatives et sa recommandation

La CNIL a adopté des lignes directrices modificatives ainsi qu’une recommandation portant sur l’usage de cookies et autres traceurs. L’évolution des règles applicables marque un tournant pour les internautes, qui pourront désormais exercer un meilleur contrôle sur les traceurs en ligne.

L’article 82 de la loi Informatique et Libertés transpose en droit français l’article 5.3 de la directive 2002/58/CE « vie privée et communications électroniques » (ou « ePrivacy »). Il prévoit notamment l’obligation, sauf exception, de recueillir le consentement des internautes avant toute opération d’écriture ou de lecture de cookies et autres traceurs.

I-Les grandes étapes

En 2013, la CNIL adoptait une première recommandation pour guider les acteurs dans la mise en œuvre des textes régissant à l’époque les opérations de lecture et d’écritures par des cookies.

Le 25 mai 2018, l’entrée en application du règlement général sur la protection des données (RGPD) est venue renforcer les exigences en matière de validité du consentement, rendant obsolète une partie de cette recommandation.

Dans le cadre de son plan d’action sur le ciblage publicitaire, la CNIL a donc entrepris d’actualiser en deux temps ses cadres de référence.

Le 4 juillet 2019, la CNIL a ainsi adopté des lignes directrices rappelant le droit applicable. Celles-ci ont été ajustées le 17 septembre 2020 pour tirer les conséquences de la décision rendue le 19 juin 2020 par le Conseil d’Etat.

En parallèle, la CNIL a également décidé d’établir, à l’issue d’une concertation avec les professionnels et la société civile, un projet de recommandation. Sans être prescriptive, la recommandation joue le rôle de guide pratique destiné à éclairer les acteurs utilisant des traceurs sur les modalités concrètes de recueil du consentement de l’internaute.

Ce projet a été soumis, le 14 janvier dernier, à une consultation publique, dont les apports ont permis d’enrichir la version finalement adoptée le 17 septembre 2020.

II-L’évolution des règles applicables

L’évolution des règles applicables, clarifiées par les lignes directrices et la recommandation, marque un tournant tant pour le secteur de la publicité en ligne que pour les internautes, qui pourront désormais exercer un meilleur contrôle sur les traceurs en ligne.

A- Les grands principes confirmés par la CNIL

>Concernant le consentement des utilisateurs :

– la simple poursuite de la navigation sur un site ne peut plus être considérée comme une expression valide du consentement de l’internaute ;

– les personnes doivent consentir au dépôt de traceurs par un acte positif clair (comme le fait de cliquer sur « j’accepte » dans une bannière cookie). Si elles ne le font pas, aucun traceur non essentiel au fonctionnement du service ne pourra être déposé sur leur appareil.

>Les utilisateurs devront être en mesure de retirer leur consentement, facilement, et à tout moment.

>Refuser les traceurs doit être aussi aisé que de les accepter.

>Concernant l’information des personnes :

– elles doivent clairement être informées des finalités des traceurs avant de consentir, ainsi que des conséquences qui s’attachent à une acceptation ou un refus de traceurs ;

– elles doivent également être informées de l’identité de tous les acteurs utilisant des traceurs soumis au consentement.

>Les organismes exploitant des traceurs doivent être en mesure de fournir, à tout moment, la preuve du recueil valable du consentement libre, éclairé, spécifique et univoque de l’utilisateur.

B-Les traceurs exemptés du recueil de consentement

Certains traceurs sont cependant exemptés du recueil de consentement, comme par exemple les traceurs destinés à l’authentification auprès d’un service, ceux destinés à garder en mémoire le contenu d’un panier d’achat sur un site marchand, certains traceurs visant à générer des statistiques de fréquentation, ou encore ceux permettant aux sites payants de limiter l’accès gratuit à un échantillon de contenu demandé par les utilisateurs.

C-Les recommandations de la CNIL

Par ailleurs la CNIL recommande que l’interface de recueil du consentement ne comprenne pas seulement un bouton « tout accepter » mais aussi un bouton « tout refuser ».

Elle suggère que les sites internet, qui généralement conservent pendant une certaine durée le consentement aux traceurs, conservent également le refus des internautes pendant une certaine période, afin de ne pas réinterroger l’internaute à chacune de ses visites.

En outre, pour que l’utilisateur soit bien conscient de la portée de son consentement, la CNIL recommande que, lorsque des traceurs permettent un suivi sur des sites autres que le site visité, le consentement soit recueilli sur chacun des sites concernés par ce suivi de navigation.

Afin de répondre aux questions des acteurs concernés et des internautes, la CNIL propose une FAQ accompagnement la publication des lignes directrices et de la recommandation.

III-Vers une mise en conformité des acteurs concernés

La CNIL invite tous les acteurs concernés à s’assurer de la conformité de leurs pratiques aux exigences du RGPD et de la directive ePrivacy.

Comme elle l’avait annoncé, elle estime que le délai de mise en conformité aux nouvelles règles ne devra pas dépasser six mois, soit au plus tard fin mars 2021.

Si la CNIL tiendra compte des difficultés opérationnelles des opérateurs pendant cette période durant laquelle elle privilégiera l’accompagnement sur les contrôles, elle se réserve la possibilité, conformément à la jurisprudence du Conseil d’Etat, de poursuivre certains manquements, notamment en cas d’atteinte particulièrement grave au droit au respect de la vie privée (CE, 16 octobre 2019, n° 433069, Rec.). En outre, la CNIL continuera à poursuivre les manquements aux règles relatives aux cookies antérieures à l’entrée en vigueur du RGPD, éclairées par sa recommandation du 5 décembre 2013.

https://www.cnil.fr/fr/cookies-et-autres-traceurs-la-cnil-publie-des-lignes-directrices-modificatives-et-sa-recommandation

Virginie Gastine Menou
RISQUES ET VOUS

“Un accompagnement personnalisé sur le chemin complexe de la conformité”


https://www.linkedin.com/company/risques-et-vous

Partagez l’article sur les réseaux !

Articles récents :

fr_FRFrançais
fr_FRFrançais en_USEnglish es_ESEspañol