Court of Justice of the European Union: decisions against Ireland and Romania in the context of the fight against money laundering

Romania and Ireland are ordered to pay the Commission, respectively, a lump sum in the amount of 3,000,000 euros and 2,000,000 euros.

These two Member States have not fully transposed the Directive on the prevention of the use of the financial system for the purposes of money laundering or terrorist financing within the time limit set.

Directive 2015 / 8491️⃣ aims to prevent the use of the European Union's financial system for the purposes of money laundering and terrorist financing. Member States had to transpose this directive into their national law by 26 June 2017 at the latest and inform the European Commission of the measures adopted in this regard.

On 27 August 2018, the Commission brought two infringement actions before the Court, considering that Romania, on the one hand, and Ireland, on the other hand, had not, within the time limit set for them in the respective reasoned opinions, fully transposed Directive 2015/849 nor communicated the corresponding national transposition measures. In addition, it asked, on the basis of Article 260 (3) TFEU2️⃣, to condemn Romania and Ireland,
on the one hand, to the payment of a daily penalty, from the delivery of the judgment for having failed in the obligation to communicate the transposition measures of this same directive and, on the other hand, to the payment of a lump sum.

Subsequently, the Commission informed the Court that it was partially withdrawing its action in that it no longer requested the imposition of a daily fine, this request having become devoid of purpose after the full transposition of Directive 2015 / 849 in Romanian and Irish law.

In this context, Romania and Ireland contested the application of the sanctions regime provided for in Article 260 (3) TFEU. Those two Member States also maintained that the Commission's request to impose the payment of a lump sum is not only unjustified, but also disproportionate in the light of the facts of the case and the objective of this type of financial penalty. They criticized the Commission for not having given detailed reasons and on a case-by-case basis for its decision to request the imposition of such a sanction in the present case.

By two judgments delivered in the Grand Chamber on July 16, 2020, the Court upheld the actions brought by the Commission. Thus, it found, first, that, on expiry of the time limit set for them in the reasoned opinion, Romania and Ireland had neither adopted the national measures transposing Directive 2015 / 849 nor communicated to the Commission such measures and that they therefore failed to fulfill their obligations under that directive.

Secondly, the Court held that Article 260 (3) TFEU is intended to apply in the present cases 3️⃣. Indeed, the Court recalled that the obligation to communicate
transposition measures, within the meaning of that provision, relate to the obligation of the Member States to transmit sufficiently clear and precise information concerning the measures to transpose a directive. Compliance with that obligation meant in the present cases for the Member States to indicate, for each provision of that directive, the national provision or provisions ensuring its transposition. Noting that the Commission had established the failure of Romania and Ireland to communicate the measures transposing Directive 2015/849 within the time limit set by the reasoned opinion, the Court ruled, first, that the failure thus found falls within the of the scope of this provision.

Secondly, the Court recalled that it is not for the Commission to give reasons on a case-by-case basis for its decision to seek a financial penalty under Article 260 (3) TFEU. Indeed, it considered that the conditions of application of this provision could not be more restrictive than those providing for the implementation of Article 258 TFEU, insofar as Article 260, paragraph 3, TFEU only constitutes 'an ancillary form of infringement proceedings, the implementation of which falls within the discretionary power of the Commission, over which the Court cannot exercise judicial control. This lack of reasons does not affect the procedural guarantees of the Member State in question, in so far as the Court, when imposing such a sanction, is subject to an obligation to state reasons.

Nevertheless, the Court clarified that the Commission remains required to give reasons for the nature and the amount of the financial penalty requested, taking into account in this regard the guidelines which it adopted, since, in the context of a procedure initiated in application of Article 260, paragraph 3, TFEU, the Court has only a limited discretion. Indeed, in the event of a finding of a breach by the latter, the Commission's proposals bind the Court as to the nature of the financial penalty that it can impose and as to the maximum amount of the penalty that it can impose.

Thirdly, as regards the imposition of a lump sum in the present cases, the Court recalled that the objective pursued by the introduction of the mechanism contained in Article 260 (3) TFEU is not only to encourage the Member States to put an end, as soon as possible, to an infringement which, in the absence of such a measure, would tend to persist, but also to streamline and speed up the procedure for the imposition of financial penalties for breaches of the obligation to notify a national measure transposing a directive adopted in accordance with the legislative procedure. Thus, it held that a request from the Commission, as in the present case, which requested the imposition of a lump sum cannot be rejected as being disproportionate on the sole ground that it relates to a breach which, while having lasted over time, ended when the Court examines the facts, insofar as the order to pay a lump sum is based on the assessment of the consequences of failure to perform the Member State concerned on private and public interests, in particular where the breach has persisted for a long period.

Fourth, with regard to the calculation of the lump sum which it is appropriate to impose in the present cases, the Court recalled that, in the exercise of its discretion in the matter as framed by Commission proposals, it is up to it to fix the amount of the lump sum to the payment of which a Member State may be ordered under Article 260 (3) TFEU in such a way that it is on the one hand, adapted to the circumstances and, on the other hand, proportionate to the offense committed. Among the relevant factors in that regard are elements such as the seriousness of the breach found, the period during which it persisted and the capacity to pay of the Member State in question.

1 - As regards the gravity of the infringement, the Court held that while Romania and Ireland put an end to the infringement alleged during the proceedings, the fact remains that this infringement existed the expiry of the time limit set in the respective reasoned opinions, so that the effectiveness of Union law has not been ensured at all times.

2nd - Concerning the assessment of the duration of the infringement, the Court recalled that it must, in principle, be considered to occur on the date on which the Court assesses the facts, namely on the date of closure of the procedure. As regards the start of the period which should be taken into account in determining the amount of the lump sum to be imposed pursuant to Article 260 (3) TFEU, the date to be used for the assessment of the duration of the failure is not that of the expiry of the time limit set in the reasoned opinion (used to determine the daily fine to be imposed), but the date on which the time limit for transposition provided for by the directive in question expires. This provision is intended to encourage Member States to transpose directives within the deadlines set by the Union legislature and to ensure the full effectiveness of Union legislation. Any other solution would, moreover, call into question the usefulness of the provisions of the directives fixing the date on which the transposition measures thereof must enter into force and to grant an additional period of transposition, the duration of which would vary, moreover, according to the speed with which the Commission initiates the pre-litigation procedure, without, however, taking into account the length of that period when assessing the duration of the infringement in question. Accordingly, the Court concluded that the breach by Romania and Ireland continued for a little over two years.

3rd - Concerning the payment capacity of the Member State in question, the Court recalled that it is necessary to take into account the recent evolution of the gross domestic product (GDP) of this Member State, as it occurs at the date of the examination of the facts by the Court.

Consequently, taking into account all the circumstances of the present cases and having regard to the discretion conferred on the Court by Article 260 (3) TFEU, the Court ordered Romania and Ireland to pay the Commission respectively a lump sum of 3,000,000 euros and 2,000,000 euros.

REMINDER

An action for failure to fulfill obligations, directed against a Member State which has failed to fulfill its obligations under Union law, may be brought by the Commission or by another Member State. If the breach is found by the Court of Justice, the Member State concerned must comply with the judgment as soon as possible.
When the Commission considers that the Member State has not complied with the judgment, it may lodge a new appeal requesting financial penalties. However, if the measures transposing a directive are not communicated to the Commission, on its proposal, penalties may be imposed by the Court of Justice, at the stage of the first judgment.

1️⃣ Directive (EU) 2015/849 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 20 May 2015 on the prevention of the use of the financial system for the purposes of money laundering or terrorist financing, amending Regulation (EU) no 648/2012 of the European Parliament and of the Council and repealing Directive 2005/60 / EC of the European Parliament and of the Council and Commission Directive 2006/70 / EC (OJ 2015, L 141, p. 73).

2️⃣ Article 260, paragraph 3, TFEU allows the Court to impose on the Member State concerned a financial penalty (lump sum or daily penalty) in the event of non-compliance with the 'obligation to communicate transposition measures of a Union directive ”to the Commission.

3️⃣ The Court applied this provision of the FEU Treaty for the first time in its judgment of 8 July 2019, Commission / Belgium (Article 260, paragraph 3, TFEU - Broadband networks), C-543/17; see also PC No. 88/19.

Virginie Gastine Menou
RISKS AND YOU

Share the article on the networks!

Articles recent:

en_USEnglish
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais es_ESEspañol

Cour de Justice de l’Union Européenne : décisions contre l’Irlande et la Roumanie dans le cadre de la lutte contre le blanchiment de capitaux

La Roumanie et l’Irlande sont condamnées à payer à la Commission, respectivement, une somme forfaitaire d’un montant de 3 000 000 euros et de 2 000 000 euros.

Ces deux États membres n’ont pas transposé, dans le délai prévu, de manière complète la directive relative à la prévention de l’utilisation du système financier aux fins du blanchiment de capitaux ou du financement du terrorisme.

La directive 2015/8491️⃣ vise à prévenir l’utilisation du système financier de l’Union européenne aux fins du blanchiment de capitaux et du financement du terrorisme. Les États membres devaient transposer cette directive dans leur droit national au plus tard le 26 juin 2017 et informer la Commission européenne des mesures adoptées à cet égard.

Le 27 août 2018, la Commission a saisi la Cour de deux recours en manquement, considérant que la Roumanie, d’une part, et l’Irlande, d’autre part, n’avaient pas, dans le délai qui leur avait été fixé dans les avis motivés respectifs, transposé de manière complète la directive 2015/849 ni communiqué les mesures nationales de transposition correspondantes. En outre, elle a demandé, sur le fondement de l’article 260, paragraphe 3, TFUE2️⃣ , de condamner la Roumanie et l’Irlande,
d’une part, au paiement d’une astreinte journalière, à compter du prononcé de l’arrêt pour avoir manqué à l’obligation de communiquer les mesures de transposition de cette même directive et, d’autre part, au paiement d’une somme forfaitaire.

Par la suite, la Commission a informé la Cour qu’elle se désistait partiellement de son recours en ce qu’elle ne demandait plus l’imposition d’une astreinte journalière, cette demande étant devenue sans objet après la transposition complète de la directive 2015/849 en droit roumain et en droit irlandais.

Dans ce contexte, la Roumanie et l’Irlande contestaient l’application du régime de sanctions prévu à l’article 260, paragraphe 3, TFUE. Ces deux États membres soutenaient également que la demande de la Commission d’imposer le paiement d’une somme forfaitaire serait non seulement injustifiée, mais également disproportionnée au regard des faits de l’espèce et de l’objectif de ce type de sanction pécuniaire. Ils reprochaient à la Commission de ne pas avoir motivé, de manière circonstanciée, et au cas par cas, sa décision de demander l’imposition d’une telle sanction en l’espèce.

Par deux arrêts prononcés en grande chambre, le 16 juillet 2020, la Cour a accueilli les recours introduits par la Commission. Ainsi, elle a constaté, en premier lieu, que, à l’expiration du délai qui leur avait été fixé dans l’avis motivé, la Roumanie et l’Irlande n’avaient ni adopté les mesures nationales de transposition de la directive 2015/849 ni communiqué à la Commission de telles mesures et qu’elles ont, dès lors, manqué aux obligations qui leur incombent en vertu de cette directive.

En deuxième lieu, la Cour a jugé que l’article 260, paragraphe 3, TFUE a vocation à s’appliquer dans les présentes affaires 3️⃣. En effet, la Cour a rappelé que l’obligation de communiquer des
mesures de transposition, au sens de cette disposition, vise l’obligation des États membres de transmettre des informations suffisamment claires et précises quant aux mesures de transposition d’une directive. La conformité à cette obligation impliquait dans les présentes affaires pour les États membres d’indiquer, pour chaque disposition de ladite directive, la ou les dispositions nationales assurant sa transposition. Relevant que la Commission avait établi le défaut de communication par la Roumanie et l’Irlande des mesures de transposition de la directive 2015/849 dans le délai fixé par l’avis motivé, la Cour a jugé, premièrement, que le manquement ainsi constaté relève du champ d’application de cette disposition.

Deuxièmement, la Cour a rappelé qu’il n’incombe pas à la Commission de motiver au cas par cas sa décision de solliciter une sanction pécuniaire au titre de l’article 260, paragraphe 3, TFUE. En effet, elle a estimé que les conditions d’application de cette disposition ne sauraient être plus restrictives que celles prévoyant la mise en œuvre de l’article 258 TFUE, dans la mesure où l’article 260, paragraphe 3, TFUE ne constitue qu’une modalité accessoire de la procédure en manquement, dont la mise en œuvre relève du pouvoir discrétionnaire de la Commission, sur lequel la Cour ne peut exercer un contrôle juridictionnel. Cette absence de motivation n’affecte pas les garanties procédurales de l’État membre en cause, dans la mesure où la Cour, lorsqu’elle inflige une telle sanction, est soumise à une obligation de motivation.

Néanmoins, la Cour a précisé que la Commission reste tenue de motiver la nature et le montant de la sanction pécuniaire sollicitée, en tenant compte à cet égard des lignes directrices qu’elle a adoptées, puisque, dans le cadre d’une procédure engagée en application de l’article 260, paragraphe 3, TFUE, la Cour ne dispose que d’un pouvoir d’appréciation encadré. En effet, en cas de constat d’un manquement par cette dernière, les propositions de la Commission lient la Cour quant à la nature de la sanction pécuniaire qu’elle peut infliger et quant au montant maximal de la sanction qu’elle peut prononcer.

En troisième lieu, en ce qui concerne l’imposition d’une somme forfaitaire dans les présentes affaires, la Cour a rappelé que l’objectif poursuivi par l’introduction du mécanisme figurant à l’article 260, paragraphe 3, TFUE est non seulement d’inciter les États membres à mettre fin, dans les plus brefs délais, à un manquement qui, en l’absence d’une telle mesure, aurait tendance à persister, mais également d’alléger et d’accélérer la procédure pour l’imposition de sanctions pécuniaires concernant les manquements à l’obligation de communication d’une mesure nationale de transposition d’une directive adoptée conformément à la procédure législative. Ainsi, elle a jugé qu’une requête de la Commission, comme en l’espèce, qui demandait l’imposition d’une somme forfaitaire ne saurait être rejetée comme étant disproportionnée au seul motif qu’elle a pour objet un manquement qui, tout en ayant perduré dans le temps, a pris fin au moment de l’examen des faits par la Cour, dans la mesure où la condamnation au paiement d’une somme forfaitaire repose sur l’appréciation des conséquences du défaut d’exécution des obligations de l’État membre concerné sur les intérêts privés et publics, notamment lorsque le manquement a persisté pendant une longue période.

En quatrième lieu, s’agissant du calcul de la somme forfaitaire qu’il est approprié d’imposer dans les présentes affaires, la Cour a rappelé que, dans l’exercice de son pouvoir d’appréciation en la matière tel qu’encadré par les propositions de la Commission, il lui appartient de fixer le montant de la somme forfaitaire au paiement de laquelle un État membre peut être condamné en vertu de l’article 260, paragraphe 3, TFUE de telle sorte qu’elle soit, d’une part, adaptée aux circonstances et, d’autre part, proportionnée à l’infraction commise. Figurent notamment au rang des facteurs pertinents à cet égard des éléments tels que la gravité du manquement constaté, la période durant laquelle celui-ci a persisté ainsi que la capacité de paiement de l’État membre en cause.

1er – En ce qui concerne la gravité de l’infraction, la Cour a estimé que si la Roumanie et l’Irlande ont mis un terme au manquement reproché en cours d’instance, il n’en demeure pas moins que ce manquement existait à l’échéance du délai imparti dans les avis motivés respectifs, de sorte que l’effectivité du droit de l’Union n’a pas été assurée en tout temps.

2ème – Concernant l’évaluation de la durée de l’infraction, la Cour a rappelé que celle-ci doit, en principe, être considérée comme intervenant à la date à laquelle la Cour apprécie les faits, à savoir à la date de la clôture de la procédure. S’agissant du début de la période dont il convient de tenir compte pour fixer le montant de la somme forfaitaire à infliger en application de l’article 260, paragraphe 3, TFUE, la date à retenir en vue de l’évaluation de la durée du manquement est non pas celle de l’échéance du délai fixé dans l’avis motivé (utilisée pour la détermination de l’astreinte journalière à infliger), mais la date à laquelle expire le délai de transposition prévu par la directive en question. En effet, cette disposition vise à inciter les États membres à transposer les directives dans les délais fixés par le législateur de l’Union et à assurer la pleine effectivité de la législation de l’Union. Toute autre solution reviendrait, d’ailleurs, à remettre en cause l’effet utile des dispositions des directives fixant la date à laquelle les mesures de transposition de celles-ci doivent entrer en vigueur et à accorder un délai de transposition supplémentaire, dont la durée varierait, de surcroît, en fonction de la célérité avec laquelle la Commission engage la procédure précontentieuse, sans qu’il puisse, pour autant, être tenu compte de la durée de ce délai lors de l’évaluation de la durée du manquement en cause. Partant, la Cour a conclu que le manquement de la Roumanie et de l’Irlande a perduré pendant un peu plus de deux ans.

3ème – Concernant la capacité de paiement de l’État membre en cause, la Cour a rappelé qu’il convient de prendre en compte l’évolution récente du produit intérieur brut (PIB) de cet État membre, telle qu’elle se présente à la date de l’examen des faits par la Cour.

Par conséquent, compte tenu de l’ensemble des circonstances des présentes affaires et au regard du pouvoir d’appréciation reconnu à la Cour à l’article 260, paragraphe 3, TFUE, la Cour a condamné la Roumanie et l’Irlande à payer à la Commission respectivement une somme forfaitaire d’un montant de 3 000 000 euros et de 2 000 000 euros.

RAPPEL

Un recours en manquement, dirigé contre un État membre qui a manqué à ses obligations découlant du droit de l’Union, peut être formé par la Commission ou par un autre État membre. Si le manquement est constaté par la Cour de justice, l’État membre concerné doit se conformer à l’arrêt dans les meilleurs délais.
Lorsque la Commission estime que l’État membre ne s’est pas conformé à l’arrêt, elle peut introduire un nouveau recours demandant des sanctions pécuniaires. Toutefois, en cas de non communication des mesures de transposition d’une directive à la Commission, sur sa proposition, des sanctions peuvent être infligées par la Cour de justice, au stade du premier arrêt.

1️⃣ Directive (UE) 2015/849 du Parlement européen et du Conseil, du 20 mai 2015, relative à la prévention de l’utilisation du système financier aux fins du blanchiment de capitaux ou du financement du terrorisme, modifiant le règlement (UE) no 648/2012 du Parlement européen et du Conseil et abrogeant la directive 2005/60/CE du Parlement européen et du Conseil et la directive 2006/70/CE de la Commission (JO 2015, L 141, p. 73).

2️⃣ L’article 260, paragraphe 3, TFUE permet à la Cour d’infliger à l’État membre concerné une sanction financière (somme forfaitaire ou astreinte journalière) en cas de non-respect de l’« obligation de communiquer des mesures de transposition d’une directive de l’Union » à la Commission.

3️⃣ La Cour a pour la première fois appliqué cette disposition du traité FUE dans son arrêt du 8 juillet 2019, Commission/Belgique (Article 260, paragraphe 3, TFUE – Réseaux à haut débit), C-543/17 ; voir aussi le CP n° 88/19.

Virginie Gastine Menou
RISQUES ET VOUS

Partagez l’article sur les réseaux !

Articles récents :

Nomination – Elena Sokolovskaya

Risk & Fraud | Payments | Fintech LinkedIn Proposer une offre de job : https://graces.community/recruteurs/Consulter les offres qui vous correspondent : https://job.graces.community/login

fr_FRFrançais
fr_FRFrançais en_USEnglish es_ESEspañol