EUROPEAN UNION: EU restrictive measures in response to the crisis in Ukraine

The Council decided on 10/09/20 to extend for a further period of six months, until 15 March 2021, the sanctions targeting persons and entities which continue to compromise or threaten the territorial integrity, sovereignty and l independence of Ukraine.

Existing restrictive measures provide for both travel restrictions and an asset freeze, and will continue to apply to 175 individuals and 44 entities.

The decision was adopted by the Council by written procedure. Legal acts will be published in the Official Journal on September 11, 2020.


Restrictive measures with regard to actions compromising or threatening the territorial integrity, sovereignty and independence of Ukraine were initially introduced on March 17, 2014.

Other measures taken by the EU in response to the crisis in Ukraine include economic sanctions targeting specific sectors of the Russian economy, currently in force until January 31, 2021, and restrictive measures in response to annexation illegal of Crimea and Sevastopol, limited to the territory of Crimea and Sevastopol, currently in force until June 23, 2021.

The list of persons and entities targeted by sanctions is subject to constant monitoring and periodic updates by the Board.


The EU imposes different types of restrictive measures:

- diplomatic measures
- individual restrictive measures (freezing of assets and restrictions on entry into EU territory)
- restrictions on economic relations with Crimea and Sevastopol
- economic sanctions
- restrictions on economic cooperation

Below you will find more information on each type of restrictive measure.

A-Diplomatic measures

In 2014, the EU-Russia summit was canceled and EU member states decided not to hold periodic bilateral summits. Bilateral discussions with Russia on visa issues as well as the new EU-Russia agreement have been suspended.

Instead of the G8 summit in Sochi, a G7 summit was held in Brussels on June 4 and 5, 2014. Since then, meetings have continued within the framework of the G7.

EU countries also supported the suspension of negotiations on Russia's membership of the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) and the International Energy Agency (IEA).

B-Individual restrictive measures

Freezing of assets and restrictions on entry into EU territory

175 people and 44 entities face an asset freeze and ban on entering EU territory because their actions have compromised the territorial integrity, sovereignty and independence of Ukraine .

These measures were introduced in March 2014. They were last extended in September 2019, until September 15, 2020

Consult the list of persons and entities subject to EU restrictive measures related to actions undermining the territorial integrity of Ukraine (Official Journal of the EU)

Consult the fact sheet on EU-Ukraine relations,factsheet

Consult the guidance note on the implementation of certain provisions of Regulation (EU) No 833/2014 concerning restrictive measures

Virginie Gastine Menou

“Personalized support on the complex road to compliance”

Share the article on the networks!

Articles recent:

en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais es_ESEspañol