FATF: crypto-currency anti-fraud report

Virtual assets use innovative technology to transfer value quickly around the world and have many potential benefits including faster and cheaper payments. But the anonymity associated with them also attracts criminals, who have used virtual assets to launder the proceeds of a range of offenses such as drug trafficking, arms smuggling, fraud, tax evasion. , cyber attacks, sanction fraud, child exploitation and human trafficking.

In response, the FATF Report on Virtual Assets - Red Flag Indicators of Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing will help national authorities to detect whether virtual assets are being used for criminal purposes. Based on more than 100 case studies collected by members of the FATF global network, it highlights the most important warning indicators that could suggest criminal behavior. The key indicators in this report relate to:

> Technological features that increase anonymity - such as the use of peer-to-peer exchange websites, mixing or tumbling services, or cryptocurrencies enhanced by anonymity

> Geographic risks - criminals can exploit countries with weak or no national measures for virtual assets

> Transaction patterns - which are irregular, unusual or rare, which may suggest criminal activity
Transaction size - if the amount and frequency does not have a logical business explanation

> Sender or recipient profiles - unusual behavior may suggest criminal activity

> Source of funds or wealth - which may be linked to criminal activity

This report will help virtual asset service providers, financial institutions and designated non-financial businesses and professions, as well as other reporting entities, to detect and report suspicious transactions. It will also provide useful information for financial intelligence services, law enforcement agencies, prosecutors and regulators to analyze suspicious transaction reports or monitor compliance with anti-money laundering and terrorist financing controls.

This report complements the FATF Guidance for a Risk-Based Approach to Virtual Assets and Virtual Asset Service Providers (June 2019) which explains how to understand money laundering and terrorist financing risks of virtual assets, how to authorize and register the sector, equity sectors need to know their client information, how to store this information securely and how to detect and report suspicious transactions.

Download the report
http://www.fatf-gafi.org/media/fatf/documents/recommendations/Virtual-Assets-Red-Flag-Indicators.pdf

Virginie Gastine Menou
RISKS AND YOU
http://www.risquesetvous.fr/
https://www.linkedin.com/company/risques-et-vous

Share the article on the networks!

Articles recent:

IMF: Fiscal Monitor

Budget action to fight the COVID-19 pandemic
A roadmap for the budgetary measures to be taken during the different phases of the pandemic
Public investments for the recovery

en_USEnglish
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais es_ESEspañol

GAFI : rapport anti-fraudes crypto-monnaies

Les actifs virtuels utilisent une technologie innovante pour transférer rapidement de la valeur dans le monde entier et présentent de nombreux avantages potentiels, notamment des paiements plus rapides et moins chers. Mais l’anonymat qui leur est associé attire également les criminels, qui ont utilisé des actifs virtuels pour blanchir les produits d’une série d’infractions telles que le trafic de drogue, la contrebande d’armes, la fraude, l’évasion fiscale, les cyberattaques, la fraude aux sanctions, l’exploitation des enfants et la traite des êtres humains.

En réponse, le rapport du GAFI sur les actifs virtuels – Indicateurs de drapeau rouge du blanchiment d’argent et du financement du terrorisme aidera les autorités nationales à détecter si les actifs virtuels sont utilisés à des fins criminelles. Sur la base de plus de 100 études de cas collectées par les membres du réseau mondial du GAFI, il met en évidence les indicateurs d’alerte les plus importants qui pourraient suggérer un comportement criminel. Les indicateurs clés de ce rapport portent sur:

>Fonctionnalités technologiques qui augmentent l’anonymat – telles que l’utilisation de sites Web d’échanges peer-to-peer, des services de mixage ou de tumbling ou des crypto-monnaies améliorées par l’anonymat

>Risques géographiques – les criminels peuvent exploiter des pays avec des mesures nationales faibles ou absentes pour les actifs virtuels

>Modèles de transaction – qui sont irréguliers, inhabituels ou rares, ce qui peut suggérer une activité criminelle
Taille de la transaction – si le montant et la fréquence n’ont pas d’explication commerciale logique

>Profils d’expéditeur ou de destinataire – un comportement inhabituel peut suggérer une activité criminelle

>Source de fonds ou de richesse – qui peut être liée à une activité criminelle

Ce rapport aidera les fournisseurs de services d’actifs virtuels, les institutions financières et les entreprises et professions non financières désignées, ainsi que d’autres entités déclarantes, à détecter et à signaler les transactions suspectes. Il fournira également des informations utiles aux services de renseignement financier, aux services répressifs, aux procureurs et aux régulateurs pour analyser les déclarations de transactions suspectes ou surveiller le respect des contrôles de lutte contre le blanchiment d’argent et le financement du terrorisme.

Ce rapport complète les orientations du GAFI pour une approche basée sur les risques des actifs virtuels et des fournisseurs de services d’actifs virtuels (juin 2019) qui explique comment comprendre les risques de blanchiment d’argent et de financement du terrorisme des actifs virtuels, comment autoriser et enregistrer le secteur, les secteurs d’actions doivent prendre connaissance des informations sur leurs clients, comment stocker ces informations en toute sécurité et comment détecter et signaler les transactions suspectes.

Téléchargez le rapport
http://www.fatf-gafi.org/media/fatf/documents/recommendations/Virtual-Assets-Red-Flag-Indicators.pdf

Virginie Gastine Menou
RISQUES ET VOUS
http://www.risquesetvous.fr/
https://www.linkedin.com/company/risques-et-vous

Partagez l’article sur les réseaux !

Articles récents :

Nomination – Justine BERNADAT

Controleur lutte contre le blanchiment de capitaux et le financement du terrorisme (LCB-FT) chez Autorité de contrôle prudentiel et de résolution LinkedIn Proposer une offre de job :...

fr_FRFrançais
fr_FRFrançais en_USEnglish es_ESEspañol