Practical Guide: Secrets and Whistleblowers

The guide "Secrets and whistleblowers" is intended for anyone wishing to raise the whistle by disclosing or reporting information. With this guide, you will be able to identify if the information you wish to reveal is protected by a secret, and know how to act while being legally protected.

The House of Whistleblowers, created on October 22, 2018, is a civil society organization, set up at the initiative of 17 organizations committing to work jointly to protect whistleblowers by supporting them in daily and to advocate for improved protection.

DEFINITIONS

This guide is structured around 4 types of secrets:

- Confidential medical information : All professionals involved in the health system (doctor, nurse, etc.) must respect medical secrecy (professional secrecy). Indeed, a patient has the right to respect for his private life and to respect for the secrecy of information concerning him. However, there are situations where medical confidentiality can be shared or lifted. In the event of a breach of professional secrecy, you can file a complaint and request compensation for the damage suffered.

- Professional secrecy of lawyers: Lawyers and magistrates are bound by professional secrecy as filed under oath. According to article 66-5 of law n ° 71-1130 of December 31, 1971, secrecy covering all the confidences that they may receive because of their condition or their profession (Civ. 1re, June 7, 1983) , but also the correspondence exchanged between the lawyer and his client (Civ. 2e, 7 Nov. 1994)

- Secret of National Defense: The protection of the secrecy of National Defense aims to ensure the protection of the fundamental interests of the Nation in the fields of Defense, internal security and the protection of financial, economic or industrial activities, the protection of heritage science and culture of France.

- Business secret: The French law of July 30, 2018 on the protection of business, covers the protection of information which "has a commercial value, actual or potential, because of its secret nature" and "is the subject of its holder reasonable protective measures, having regard to the circumstances, to maintain their secrecy. "

REVEAL THE SECRET

However, article 40 of the Code of Criminal Procedure provides that any constituted authority, any public officer or civil servant, who in the exercise of his functions acquires knowledge of a crime or an offense, to inform the District Attorney.

A similar obligation is imposed on persons who "carry out, control or advise operations involving the movement of capital", who are "required to declare to the Public Prosecutor transactions involving sums which they know come from drug trafficking or of the activity of criminal organizations ”(article L. 561-1 of the Monetary and Financial Code).

Professional secrecy, and in particular banking secrecy, cannot be opposed to the OPJ or to the Public Prosecutor during the investigation (Crim. 27 Apr. 1994). It can nevertheless be opposed to the civil judge (Com. 13 June 1995).

Download the guide
https://mlalerte.org/guide-secrets-et-lanceurs-dalerte-maison-des-lanceurs-dalerte-2020/

Virginie Gastine Menou
RISKS AND YOU
http://www.risquesetvous.fr/
https://www.linkedin.com/company/risques-et-vous

Share the article on the networks!

Articles recent:

en_USEnglish
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais es_ESEspañol

Guide Pratique : Secrets et lanceurs d’alerte

Le guide « Secrets et lanceurs d’alerte » s’adresse à toute personne souhaitant lancer l’alerte en divulguant ou signalant une information. Grâce à ce guide, vous pourrez identifier si l’information que vous souhaitez révéler est protégée par un secret, et savoir comment agir en étant protégé juridiquement.

La Maison des lanceurs d’alerte, créée le 22 octobre 2018, est une organisation de la société civile, mise en place à l’initiative de 17 organisations s’engageant à œuvrer conjointement à la protection des lanceurs d’alerte en les accompagnant au quotidien et à plaider pour une amélioration de leur protection.

DEFINITIONS

Ce guide s’articule autour de 4 types de secret :

– Secret médical : Tous les professionnels intervenant dans le système de santé (médecin, infirmière…) doivent respecter le secret médical (secret professionnel). En effet, un patient a droit au respect de sa vie privée et au respect du secret des informations le concernant. Toutefois, il y a des situations où le secret médical peut être partagé ou levé. En cas de violation du secret professionnel, vous pouvez porter plainte et demander réparation du préjudice subi.

– Secret professional des avocats : Avocats et magistrats sont tenus au secret professionnel tel que déposé sous serment. Selon l’article 66-5 de la loi n°71-1130 du 31 décembre 1971, le secret couvrant toutes les confidences que ceux-ci peuvent recevoir du fait de leur état ou de leur profession (Civ. 1re, 7 juin 1983), mais également les correspondances échangées entre l’avocat et son client (Civ. 2e, 7 nov. 1994)

– Secret de La Défense nationale : La protection du secret de la Défense nationale a pour objectif d’assurer la sauvegarde des intérêts fondamentaux de la Nation dans les domaines de la Défense, de la sécurité intérieure et de la protection des activités financières, économiques ou industrielles, de la protection du patrimoine scientifique et culturel de la France.

– Secret des affaires : La loi française du 30 juillet 2018 sur la protection des affaires, couvre la protection de l’information qui « revêt une valeur commerciale, effective ou potentielle, du fait de son caractère secret » et « fait l’objet de la part de son détenteur légitime de mesures de protection raisonnables, compte tenu des circonstances, pour en conserver le caractère secret. »

LEVER LE SECRET

Toutefois, l’article 40 du Code de procédure pénale dispose que toute autorité constituée, tout officier de public ou fonctionnaire, qui dans l’exercice de ses fonctions acquiert la connaissance d’un crime ou d’un délit, d’en informer le Procureur de la République.

Une obligation similaire est faites aux personnes qui « réalisent, contrôlent ou conseillent des opérations entraînant des mouvements de capitaux », qui sont « tenues de déclarer au Procureur de la République les opérations portant sur des sommes qu’elles savent provenir du trafic de stupéfiants ou de l’activité d’organisation criminelles » (article L. 561-1 du Code monétaire et financier).

Le secret professionnel et notamment le secret bancaire ne peut être opposé aux OPJ ou au Procureur de la République pendant l’enquête (Crim. 27 avr. 1994). Il peut néanmoins être opposé au juge civil (Com. 13 juin 1995).

Télécharger le guide
https://mlalerte.org/guide-secrets-et-lanceurs-dalerte-maison-des-lanceurs-dalerte-2020/

Virginie Gastine Menou
RISQUES ET VOUS
http://www.risquesetvous.fr/
https://www.linkedin.com/company/risques-et-vous

Partagez l’article sur les réseaux !

Articles récents :

fr_FRFrançais
fr_FRFrançais en_USEnglish es_ESEspañol