The CNCDH calls for strengthening the protection of whistleblowers in France

In an opinion of September 24, 2020, the National Consultative Commission on Human Rights (CNCDH) calls on the French government to take up the transposition of the European directive for the protection of whistleblowers to strengthen the protection system put in place. in place by the Sapin II law.

France has until the end of 2021 to transpose the directive into national law.

"In France also whistleblowers can be the target of threats, intimidation, reprisals," recalls Jean-Marie Burguburu, president of the CNCDH. These women and men play an essential role in enhancing transparency and democratic accountability. Guaranteeing them effective protection must be a top priority. "

Extend and further protect whistleblowers in Europe
Faced with inequalities in the protection of whistleblowers within the European Union, the European Parliament and the Council of the European Union adopted on October 7, 2019 a directive on the protection of persons who report violations of human rights law. 'Union. This directive aims to introduce minimum guarantees of protection into the legislation of the Member States. In particular, it simplifies the procedure for reporting facts that contravene European Union law by abolishing the obligation to report to the hierarchical superior and by strengthening the confidentiality of the identity of the whistleblower.

Guarantee effective protection of the whistleblower
The CNCDH calls on the government to transpose the European directive to a maximum in order to guarantee effective protection for people who report offenses or, more generally, serious threats to the general interest.

In France, the protection regime for whistleblowers provided for by the Sapin II law adopted in 2016 does not effectively guarantee their protection against attempts at intimidation, harassment or reprisals, thus dissuading potential whistleblowers. to report rights violations. The CNCDH underlined the limits of this regime in its opinion on the Sapin II bill. The establishment of the mechanisms necessary for optimal and effective protection of whistleblowers would create the conditions to promote the fight against impunity for serious attacks on the general interest.

Thus, beyond the requirements provided for by the directive, the CNCDH recommends extending the protection system to legal persons and to the "facilitator" who provides assistance to the whistleblower, and to entrust a single independent public authority with the responsibility to inform, advise and provide support and financial assistance. Moreover, the CNCDH recommends not to limit the protection of whistleblowers for crimes against Union law but also to crimes under national and international law and threats to the general interest.

Finally, for their fight in favor of freedom, the CNCDH recommends allowing whistleblowers of foreign nationality to access the right of asylum.

Read the notice
https://www.cncdh.fr/sites/default/files/avis_2020_-_11_-_avis_transposition_directive_lanceurs_dalerte.pdf

Virginie Gastine Menou
RISKS AND YOU
http://www.risquesetvous.fr/
https://www.linkedin.com/company/risques-et-vous

Share the article on the networks!

Articles recent:

IMF: Fiscal Monitor

Budget action to fight the COVID-19 pandemic
A roadmap for the budgetary measures to be taken during the different phases of the pandemic
Public investments for the recovery

en_USEnglish
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais es_ESEspañol

La CNCDH appelle à renforcer la protection des lanceurs d’alerte en France

Dans un avis du 24 septembre 2020, la Commission nationale consultative des droits de l’Homme (CNCDH) appelle le gouvernement français à se saisir de la transposition de la directive européenne pour la protection des lanceurs d’alerte pour renforcer le dispositif de protection mis en place par la loi Sapin II.

La France a jusqu’à fin 2021 pour transposer la directive dans le droit national.

« En France aussi les lanceurs d’alerte peuvent être la cible de menaces, d’intimidation, de représailles, rappelle Jean-Marie Burguburu, président de la CNCDH. Ces femmes et ces hommes jouent un rôle essentiel pour renforcer la transparence et la responsabilité démocratique. Leur garantir une protection effective doit être une priorité absolue. »

Élargir et protéger d’avantage les lanceurs d’alerte en Europe
Face aux inégalités de protection des lanceurs d’alerte au sein de l’Union européenne, le Parlement européen et le Conseil de l’Union européenne ont adopté le 7 octobre 2019 une directive sur la protection des personnes qui signalent des violations du droit de l’Union. Cette directive vise à introduire des garanties minimales de protection dans la législation des États membres. Elle simplifie notamment la procédure de signalement des faits contrevenant au droit de l’Union européenne en abolissant l’obligation de signalement au supérieur hiérarchique et en renforçant la confidentialité de l’identité du lanceur d’alerte.

Garantir une protection effective du lanceur d’alerte
La CNCDH appelle le gouvernement à transposer la directive européenne a maxima afin de garantir une protection efficace des personnes qui signalent des infractions ou, plus largement, des menaces graves pour l’intérêt général.

En France, le régime de protection des lanceurs d’alerte prévu par la loi Sapin II adoptée en 2016 ne permet pas de garantir efficacement leur protection contre des tentatives d’intimidations, de harcèlement ou de représailles, dissuadant ainsi les lanceurs d’alerte potentiels de signaler des violations de droits. La CNCDH avait souligné les limites de ce régime dans son avis sur le projet de loi Sapin II. La mise en place des dispositifs nécessaires à une protection optimale et efficace des lanceurs d’alerte créeraient les conditions pour favoriser la lutte contre l’impunité des atteintes graves à l’intérêt général.

Ainsi, au-delà des exigences prévues par la directive, la CNCDH recommande d’élargir le dispositif de protection aux personnes morales et au « facilitateur » qui apporte une assistance au lanceur d’alerte, et de confier à une autorité publique indépendante unique, la responsabilité d’informer, conseiller et apporter un soutien et une assistance financière. Par ailleurs, la CNCDH recommande de ne pas limiter la protection des lanceurs d’alerte de crimes contre le droit de l’Union mais également aux crimes du droit national, international et menaces pour l’intérêt général.

Enfin, pour leur combat en faveur de la liberté, la CNCDH recommande de permettre aux lanceurs d’alerte de nationalité étrangère d’accéder au droit d’asile.

Consultez l’avis
https://www.cncdh.fr/sites/default/files/avis_2020_-_11_-_avis_transposition_directive_lanceurs_dalerte.pdf

Virginie Gastine Menou
RISQUES ET VOUS
http://www.risquesetvous.fr/
https://www.linkedin.com/company/risques-et-vous

Partagez l’article sur les réseaux !

Articles récents :

Nomination – Elena Sokolovskaya

Risk & Fraud | Payments | Fintech LinkedIn Proposer une offre de job : https://graces.community/recruteurs/Consulter les offres qui vous correspondent : https://job.graces.community/login

fr_FRFrançais
fr_FRFrançais en_USEnglish es_ESEspañol