European justice opposes undifferentiated collection of digital data

PRESS RELEASE No 123/20

Judgments in case C-623/17 Privacy International and in joined cases C-511/18 La Quadrature du Net and others and C-512/18, French Data Network and others, as well as C-520/18 Ordre des bars francophones and german speaking ea

The Court of Justice confirms that Union law precludes national regulations requiring a provider of electronic communications services, for the purposes of combating infringements in general or safeguarding national security, the transmission or generalized and undifferentiated storage of data relating to traffic and location.

On the other hand, in situations in which a Member State faces a serious threat to national security which proves to be real and current or foreseeable, it may derogate from the obligation to ensure the confidentiality of data relating to communications. electronic data by imposing, through legislative measures, generalized and undifferentiated storage of these data for a period limited to what is strictly necessary, but renewable in the event of a persistence of the threat. As regards the fight against serious crime and the prevention of serious threats to public security, a Member State may also provide for the targeted retention of such data as well as their rapid retention. Such interference with fundamental rights must be accompanied by effective guarantees and supervised by a judge or an independent administrative authority. Likewise, it is open to a Member State to carry out generalized and undifferentiated storage of the IP addresses attributed to the source of a communication as long as the storage period is limited to what is strictly necessary or to proceed with generalized storage and undifferentiated data relating to the civil identity of the users of electronic means of communication, without this being limited in the latter case to a specific period.
In recent years, the Court of Justice has ruled in several judgments on the retention and access to personal data in the field of electronic communications. The resulting case-law, in particular the Tele2 Sverige and Watson and Others judgment, in which it considered in particular that the Member States could not impose on providers of electronic communications services a general and indiscriminate retention obligation of traffic data and localization, has aroused the concerns of some States, fearing that they have been deprived of an instrument which they consider necessary to safeguard national security and fight crime.

It is against this backdrop that the Investigatory Powers Tribunal (Privacy International, C-623/17), the Council of State (France) (La Quadrature du Net and others, joined cases C-511/18 and C-512/18) as well as the Constitutional Court (Belgium) (Order of French-speaking and German-speaking bars and others, C-520/18) were seized of disputes concerning the legality of regulations adopted by certain Member States in these areas, providing in particular for an obligation for providers of electronic communications services to transmit to a public authority or to keep in a generalized or indiscriminate manner user data relating to traffic and location.

By two judgments delivered in Grand Chamber, on October 6, 2020, the Court firstly ruled that the “privacy and electronic communications” directive applies to national regulations requiring providers of electronic communications services to proceed, for the purposes of from the protection of national security and the fight against crime, to the processing of personal data, such as their transmission to public authorities or their storage. In addition, while confirming its case-law resulting from the Tele2 Sverige and Watson and Others judgment, on the disproportionate nature of generalized and undifferentiated storage of data relating to traffic and location, the Court provides details, in particular, as regards the the extent of the powers conferred by that directive on the Member States with regard to the retention of such data for the aforementioned purposes.

First of all, the Court takes care to dispel the doubts about the applicability of the Directive on privacy and electronic communications raised in the context of the present cases. Indeed, several Member States which have submitted written observations to the Court have expressed a dissenting opinion in this respect. They argued in particular that that directive would not be applicable to the national regulations in question, in so far as their purpose is to safeguard national security, which falls within their sole competence, as evidenced in particular by the Article 4 (2), third sentence, TEU. The Court considers, however, that national regulations requiring providers of electronic communications services to keep data relating to traffic and location or to transmit such data to national security and intelligence authorities for that purpose fall within the scope of application. of the directive.

Next, the Court reiterates that the “Directive on privacy and electronic communications” does not allow the derogation from the obligation in principle to guarantee the confidentiality of electronic communications and of the data relating thereto and from the prohibition on storing such data to become the rule. This implies that this directive does not authorize the Member States to adopt, inter alia for national security purposes, legislative measures aimed at limiting the scope of the rights and obligations provided for by this directive, in particular the obligation to guarantee the confidentiality of data. communications and traffic data, only in compliance with the general principles of Union law, including the principle of proportionality, and the fundamental rights guaranteed by the Charter.

In this context, the Court considers, on the one hand, in the Privacy International case, that the “privacy and electronic communications” directive, read in the light of the Charter, precludes national regulations, requiring suppliers electronic communications services, with a view to safeguarding national security, the generalized and undifferentiated transmission to the security and intelligence services of traffic and location data.

On the other hand, in the joined cases La Quadrature du Net and others, as well as in the French-speaking and German-speaking order of bars, the Court considers that the same directive precludes legislative measures requiring communications service providers electronic, as a preventive measure, generalized and undifferentiated storage of data relating to traffic and location. Indeed, these obligations of transmission and generalized and undifferentiated conservation of such data constitute particularly serious interference with the fundamental rights guaranteed by the Charter, without the behavior of the persons whose data is concerned having any link with the objective pursued by the regulations in question. Similarly, the Court interprets Article 23 (1) of the General Data Protection Regulation, read in the light of the Charter, as being opposed to national regulations requiring service providers access to online communication services to the public and to hosting service providers generalized and undifferentiated storage, in particular, of personal data relating to these services.

On the other hand, the Court considers that, in situations where the Member State concerned faces a serious threat to national security which turns out to be real and current or foreseeable, the Directive on privacy and electronic communications, read at in light of the Charter, does not preclude requiring providers of electronic communications services to keep data relating to traffic and location in a generalized and indiscriminate manner. In this context, the Court specifies that the decision providing for this injunction, for a period limited to what is strictly necessary, must be subject to effective control, either by a court or by an independent administrative entity, whose decision is with a binding effect, in order to verify the existence of one of these situations as well as compliance with the conditions and guarantees provided.

Under those same conditions, that directive does not preclude the automated analysis of data, in particular those relating to traffic and location, of all users of electronic communications means.

The Court added that the “privacy and electronic communications” directive, read in the light of the Charter, does not preclude legislative measures allowing the use of targeted conservation, temporarily limited to what is strictly necessary, of traffic data. and the location, which is delimited, on the basis of objective and non-discriminatory elements, according to the categories of persons concerned or by means of a geographical criterion. Likewise, this directive does not preclude such measures providing for generalized and undifferentiated storage of IP addresses attributed to the source of a communication, provided that the storage period is limited to what is strictly necessary, nor to those providing for a such retention of data relating to the civil identity of users of electronic means of communication, in the latter case the Member States are not required to temporarily limit the retention. Furthermore, that directive does not preclude a legislative measure allowing recourse to rapid storage of data available to service providers when situations arise in which the need to keep such data beyond the time limits arises. legal data retention for the purpose of clarifying serious criminal offenses or attacks on national security, when these offenses or attacks have already been noted or when their existence can be reasonably suspected.

In addition, the Court ruled that the “privacy and electronic communications” directive, read in the light of the Charter, does not preclude national regulations requiring providers of electronic communications services to use real-time data collection, in particular, data relating to traffic and location, when this collection is limited to persons in respect of whom there is a valid reason to suspect that they are involved, in one way or another, in activities terrorism and is subject to prior checking, carried out either by a court or by an independent administrative entity, whose decision has binding effect, ensuring that such real-time collection is only authorized within the limit of what is strictly necessary.

In the event of an emergency, the control must take place as quickly as possible.

Finally, the Court addresses the question of the maintenance of the effects over time of national regulations deemed incompatible with EU law. In this regard, it considers that a national court cannot apply a provision of its national law which empowers it to limit in time the effects of a declaration of illegality incumbent upon it, with regard to national regulations requiring providers of electronic communications services to maintain general and undifferentiated storage of traffic and location data, deemed incompatible with the “privacy and electronic communications” directive, read in the light of the Charter.

That being said, in order to give a useful answer to the national court, the Court recalls that the admissibility and assessment of evidence which has been obtained by keeping data contrary to EU law, in the in the context of criminal proceedings initiated against persons suspected of serious criminal acts, is, as Union law currently stands, subject to national law alone. However, the Court specifies that the Directive on "private life and electronic communications", interpreted in the light of the principle of effectiveness, requires the national criminal court to exclude evidence which has been obtained by a generalized and undifferentiated retention of data relating to traffic and location incompatible with Union law, in the context of such criminal proceedings, if persons suspected of criminal acts are not able to take an effective position on this evidence.

Download the decision
https://curia.europa.eu/jcms/upload/docs/application/pdf/2020-10/cp200123fr.pdf

Virginie Gastine Menou
RISKS AND YOU
http://www.risquesetvous.fr/
https://www.linkedin.com/company/risques-et-vous

Share the article on the networks!

Articles recent:

IMF: Fiscal Monitor

Budget action to fight the COVID-19 pandemic
A roadmap for the budgetary measures to be taken during the different phases of the pandemic
Public investments for the recovery

en_USEnglish
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais es_ESEspañol

La justice européenne s’oppose à une collecte indifférenciée des données numériques

COMMUNIQUE DE PRESSE n° 123/20

Arrêts dans l’affaire C-623/17 Privacy International et dans les affaires jointes C-511/18 La Quadrature du Net e.a. et C-512/18, French Data Network e.a., ainsi que C-520/18 Ordre des barreaux francophones et germanophone e.a.

La Cour de justice confirme que le droit de l’Union s’oppose à une réglementation nationale imposant à un fournisseur de services de communications électroniques, à des fins de lutte contre les infractions en général ou de sauvegarde de la sécurité nationale, la transmission ou la conservation généralisée et indifférenciée de données relatives au trafic et à la localisation.

En revanche, dans des situations dans lesquelles un État membre fait face à une menace grave pour la sécurité nationale qui s’avère réelle et actuelle ou prévisible, celui-ci peut déroger à l’obligation d’assurer la confidentialité des données afférentes aux communications électroniques en imposant, par des mesures législatives, une conservation généralisée et indifférenciée de ces données pour une durée temporellement limitée au strict nécessaire, mais renouvelable en cas de persistance de la menace. S’agissant de la lutte contre la criminalité grave et la prévention des menaces graves contre la sécurité publique, un État membre peut également prévoir la conservation ciblée desdites données ainsi que leur conservation rapide. Une telle ingérence dans les droits fondamentaux doit être assortie de garanties effectives et contrôlée par un juge ou une autorité administrative indépendante. De même, il est loisible à un État membre de procéder à une conservation généralisée et indifférenciée des adresses IP attribuées à la source d’une communication dès lors que la durée de conservation est limitée au strict nécessaire ou encore de procéder à une conservation généralisée et indifférenciée des données relatives à l’identité civile des utilisateurs des moyens de communications électroniques, sans que cela soit dans ce dernier cas limité à un délai particulier.
Ces dernières années, la Cour de justice s’est prononcée, dans plusieurs arrêts, sur la conservation et l’accès aux données à caractère personnel dans le domaine des communications électroniques. La jurisprudence qui en découle, en particulier l’arrêt Tele2 Sverige et Watson e.a., dans lequel elle a notamment considéré que les États membres ne pouvaient pas imposer aux fournisseurs de services de communications électroniques une obligation de conservation généralisée et indifférenciée des données relatives au trafic et à la localisation, a suscité les préoccupations de certains États, craignant d’avoir été privés d’un instrument qu’ils estiment nécessaire à la sauvegarde de la sécurité nationale et à la lutte contre la criminalité.

C’est sur cette toile de fond que l’Investigatory Powers Tribunal (tribunal chargé des pouvoirs d’enquête, Royaume-Uni) (Privacy International, C-623/17), le Conseil d’État (France) (La Quadrature du Net e.a., affaires jointes C-511/18 et C-512/18) ainsi que la Cour constitutionnelle (Belgique) (Ordre des barreaux francophones et germanophone e.a., C-520/18) ont été saisis de litiges concernant la légalité des réglementations adoptées par certains États membres dans ces domaines, prévoyant en particulier une obligation pour les fournisseurs de services de communications électroniques de transmettre à une autorité publique ou de conserver de manière généralisée ou indifférenciée les données des utilisateurs relatives au trafic et à la localisation.

Par deux arrêts prononcés en grande chambre, le 6 octobre 2020, la Cour juge tout d’abord que la directive « vie privée et communications électroniques » s’applique à des réglementations nationales imposant aux fournisseurs de services de communications électroniques de procéder, aux fins de la sauvegarde de la sécurité nationale et de la lutte contre la criminalité, à des traitements de données à caractère personnel, tels que leur transmission à des autorités publiques ou leur conservation. En outre, tout en confirmant sa jurisprudence issue de l’arrêt Tele2 Sverige et Watson e.a., sur le caractère disproportionné d’une conservation généralisée et indifférenciée des données relatives au trafic et à la localisation, la Cour apporte des précisions, notamment, quant à l’étendue des pouvoirs que reconnaît cette directive aux États membres en matière de conservation de telles données aux fins précitées.

Tout d’abord, la Cour prend soin de dissiper les doutes sur l’applicabilité de la directive « vie privée et communications électroniques » soulevés dans le cadre des présentes affaires. En effet, plusieurs États membres ayant soumis des observations écrites à la Cour ont exprimé un avis divergent à cet égard. Ils faisaient notamment valoir que cette directive ne trouverait pas à s’appliquer aux réglementations nationales en cause, dans la mesure où celles-ci ont pour finalité la sauvegarde de la sécurité nationale, qui relèverait de leur seule compétence, comme en témoignerait notamment l’article 4, paragraphe 2, troisième phrase, TUE. La Cour considère cependant que des réglementations nationales imposant aux fournisseurs de services de communications électroniques de conserver des données relatives au trafic et à la localisation ou encore de transmettre ces données aux autorités nationales de sécurité et de renseignement à cette fin relèvent du champ d’application de la directive.

Ensuite, la Cour rappelle que la « directive vie privée et communications électroniques » ne permet pas que la dérogation à l’obligation de principe de garantir la confidentialité des communications électroniques et des données y afférentes et à l’interdiction de stocker ces données devienne la règle. Ceci implique que cette directive n’autorise les États membres à adopter, entre autres à des fins de sécurité nationale, des mesures législatives visant à limiter la portée des droits et des obligations prévus par cette directive, notamment l’obligation de garantir la confidentialité des communications et des données relatives au trafic, que dans le respect des principes généraux du droit de l’Union, parmi lesquels figure le principe de proportionnalité, et des droits fondamentaux garantis par la Charte.

Dans ce cadre, la Cour considère, d’une part, dans l’affaire Privacy International, que la directive « vie privée et communications électroniques », lue à la lumière de la Charte, s’oppose à une réglementation nationale, imposant aux fournisseurs de services de communications électroniques, en vue de la sauvegarde de la sécurité nationale, la transmission généralisée et indifférenciée aux services de sécurité et de renseignement des données relatives au trafic et à la localisation.

D’autre part, dans les affaires jointes La Quadrature du Net e.a., ainsi que dans l’affaire Ordre des barreaux francophones et germanophone e.a., la Cour estime que cette même directive s’oppose à des mesures législatives imposant aux fournisseurs de services de communications électroniques, à titre préventif, une conservation généralisée et indifférenciée des données relatives au trafic et à la localisation. En effet, ces obligations de transmission et de conservation généralisée et indifférenciée de telles données constituent des ingérences particulièrement graves dans les droits fondamentaux garantis par la Charte, sans que le comportement des personnes dont les données sont concernées présente de lien avec l’objectif poursuivi par la réglementation en cause. De manière analogue, la Cour interprète l’article 23, paragraphe 1, du règlement général sur la protection des données, lu à la lumière de la Charte, en ce sens qu’il s’oppose à une réglementation nationale imposant aux fournisseurs d’accès à des services de communication au public en ligne et aux fournisseurs de services d’hébergement la conservation généralisée et indifférenciée, notamment, des données à caractère personnel afférentes à ces services.

En revanche, la Cour estime que, dans des situations où l’État membre concerné fait face à une menace grave pour la sécurité nationale qui s’avère réelle et actuelle ou prévisible, la directive « vie privée et communications électroniques », lue à la lumière de la Charte, ne s’oppose pas au fait d’enjoindre aux fournisseurs de services de communications électroniques de conserver de manière généralisée et indifférenciée des données relatives au trafic et à la localisation. Dans ce contexte, la Cour précise que la décision prévoyant cette injonction, pour une période temporellement limitée au strict nécessaire, doit faire l’objet d’un contrôle effectif, soit par une juridiction, soit par une entité administrative indépendante, dont la décision est dotée d’un effet contraignant, afin de vérifier l’existence d’une de ces situations ainsi que le respect des conditions et des garanties prévues.

Dans ces mêmes conditions, ladite directive ne s’oppose pas non plus à l’analyse automatisée des données, notamment celles relatives au trafic et à la localisation, de l’ensemble des utilisateurs de moyens de communications électroniques.

La Cour ajoute que la directive « vie privée et communications électroniques », lue à la lumière de la Charte, ne s’oppose pas à des mesures législatives permettant le recours à une conservation ciblée, temporellement limitée au strict nécessaire, des données relatives au trafic et à la localisation, qui soit délimitée, sur la base d’éléments objectifs et non discriminatoires, en fonction de catégories de personnes concernées ou au moyen d’un critère géographique. De même, cette directive ne s’oppose pas à de telles mesures prévoyant une conservation généralisée et indifférenciée des adresses IP attribuées à la source d’une communication, pour autant que la durée de conservation est limitée au strict nécessaire, ni à celles prévoyant une telle conservation des données relatives à l’identité civile des utilisateurs des moyens de communications électroniques, les États membres n’étant dans ce dernier cas pas tenus de limiter temporellement la conservation. Au surplus, ladite directive ne s’oppose pas à une mesure législative permettant le recours à une conservation rapide des données dont disposent les fournisseurs de services dès lors que se présentent des situations dans lesquelles survient la nécessité de conserver lesdites données au-delà des délais légaux de conservation des données aux fins de l’élucidation d’infractions pénales graves ou d’atteintes à la sécurité nationale, lorsque ces infractions ou atteintes ont déjà été constatées ou lorsque leur existence peut être raisonnablement soupçonnée.

En outre, la Cour juge que la directive « vie privée et communications électroniques », lue à la lumière de la Charte, ne s’oppose pas à une réglementation nationale imposant aux fournisseurs de services de communications électroniques de recourir au recueil en temps réel, notamment, des données relatives au trafic et à la localisation, lorsque ce recueil est limité aux personnes à l’égard desquelles il existe une raison valable de soupçonner qu’elles sont impliquées, d’une manière ou d’une autre, dans des activités de terrorisme et est soumis à un contrôle préalable, effectué soit par une juridiction, soit par une entité administrative indépendante, dont la décision est dotée d’un effet contraignant, s’assurant qu’un tel recueil en temps réel n’est autorisé que dans la limite de ce qui est strictement nécessaire.

En cas d’urgence, le contrôle doit intervenir dans de brefs délais.

Enfin, la Cour aborde la question du maintien des effets dans le temps d’une réglementation nationale jugée incompatible avec le droit de l’Union. À cet égard, elle juge qu’une juridiction nationale ne peut faire application d’une disposition de son droit national qui l’habilite à limiter dans le temps les effets d’une déclaration d’illégalité lui incombant, à l’égard d’une réglementation nationale imposant aux fournisseurs de services de communications électroniques une conservation généralisée et indifférenciée des données relatives au trafic et à la localisation, jugée incompatible avec la directive « vie privée et communications électroniques », lue à la lumière de la Charte.

Ceci étant dit, afin de donner une réponse utile à la juridiction nationale, la Cour rappelle que l’admissibilité et l’appréciation d’éléments de preuve qui ont été obtenus par une conservation de données contraire au droit de l’Union, dans le cadre d’une procédure pénale ouverte à l’encontre de personnes soupçonnées d’actes de criminalité grave, relève, en l’état actuel du droit de l’Union, du seul droit national. Toutefois, la Cour précise que la directive « vie privée et communications électroniques », interprétée à la lumière du principe d’effectivité, exige que le juge pénal national écarte des éléments de preuve qui ont été obtenus par une conservation généralisée et indifférenciée des données relatives au trafic et à la localisation incompatible avec le droit de l’Union, dans le cadre d’une telle procédure pénale, si les personnes soupçonnées d’actes de criminalité ne sont pas en mesure de prendre efficacement position sur ces éléments de preuve.

Téléchargez le décision
https://curia.europa.eu/jcms/upload/docs/application/pdf/2020-10/cp200123fr.pdf

Virginie Gastine Menou
RISQUES ET VOUS
http://www.risquesetvous.fr/
https://www.linkedin.com/company/risques-et-vous

Partagez l’article sur les réseaux !

Articles récents :

fr_FRFrançais
fr_FRFrançais en_USEnglish es_ESEspañol