The US Securities and Exchange Commission and the Whistleblower Program

United States Whistleblower Program Framework

The assistance and information of a whistleblower with knowledge of possible securities law violations can be among the most powerful weapons in the Securities and Exchange Commission's law enforcement arsenal. With their knowledge of the circumstances and the people involved, whistleblowers can help the Commission identify fraud and other possible violations much sooner than would otherwise have been possible. This enables the Commission to minimize the harm caused to investors, to better preserve the integrity of the US capital markets and to hold those responsible for illegal behavior accountable more quickly.

The Commission is authorized by Congress to grant monetary rewards to eligible individuals who submit high quality original information that leads to Commission enforcement action in which more than 1,000,000 $ of penalties are ordered. The range of rewards is between 10% and 30% of the money collected.

The Office of the Whistleblower was created to administer the SEC's whistleblower program. We understand that the decision to provide information about securities fraud or other wrongdoing is not taken lightly, and we are here to answer all of your questions. You can reach the Whistleblower's Office at (202) 551-4790.

————————————————————————————-

SEC press release - 09/30/20

The Securities and Exchange Commission today announced awards to four people for total payouts of nearly $ 5 million. Each of these whistleblowers provided essential information which alerted the Commission to the alleged wrongdoing and resulted in successful enforcement actions. This year, the SEC awarded a record 39 individual awards of approximately $ 175 million, more than in any previous fiscal year.

In the first order, a whistleblower was awarded nearly $ 2.9 million for alerting the Commission to violations that were difficult to detect. The whistleblower provided critical information and supporting evidence that saved the SEC time and resources.

In the second order, a whistleblower, a former company insider, received more than $ 1.7 million. This whistleblower provided extensive and ongoing assistance to the investigation team during the investigation.

In the third order, two whistleblowers were awarded nearly $ 400,000 for jointly providing a tip and providing ongoing assistance during the investigation, including meeting with staff and providing detailed information that helped them understand the issues. key documents and identify witnesses. Whistleblowers also raised their concerns internally and suffered personal hardships as a result of these denunciations.

“Today marks the end of a record year for the whistleblower program. We have made significant progress in streamlining and further accelerating the assessment of claims under the rules, significantly increasing the rate at which whistleblower claims are assessed and awards awarded, ”said Stephanie Avakian, Director of the Corporate Affairs Division. execution. “We remain committed to rewarding the valuable contributions of whistleblowers in a timely and effective manner. "

"The awards presented last month demonstrate the variety and breadth of advice received from whistleblowers," added Jane Norberg, head of the SEC's whistleblower office. “Last month's winners include people outside the company who provided independent analysis, international whistleblowers who shed light on hard-to-detect behaviors abroad, and company insiders who have provided critical information and substantial assistance which helped the Commission to better protect investors and the market. And today, the four winners each provided the tip that triggered the opening of the case. "

The SEC has awarded nearly $ 562 million to 106 people since the release of its first award in 2012. All payments are made from an investor protection fund established by Congress and funded entirely by monetary penalties paid. to the SEC by violators of securities laws. No money was taken or withheld from aggrieved investors to pay whistleblower rewards.

Whistleblowers may be eligible for an award when they voluntarily provide the SEC with original, timely, and credible information that leads to successful enforcement action. Whistleblower rewards can range from 10 to 30% of the money collected when monetary penalties exceed $ 1 million.

As stated in the Dodd-Frank Act, the SEC protects the confidentiality of whistleblowers and does not disclose information that could reveal the identity of a whistleblower.

SEC website
https://www.sec.gov/whistleblower

Virginie Gastine Menou
RISKS AND YOU
http://www.risquesetvous.fr/
https://www.linkedin.com/company/risques-et-vous

Share the article on the networks!

Articles recent:

en_USEnglish
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais es_ESEspañol

La U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission et le programme des lanceurs d’alertes

Cadre du programme américain pour les lanceurs d’alertes

L’assistance et les informations d’un lanceur d’alerte qui connaît d’éventuelles violations du droit des valeurs mobilières peuvent être parmi les armes les plus puissantes de l’arsenal des forces de l’ordre de la Securities and Exchange Commission. Grâce à leur connaissance des circonstances et des personnes impliquées, les dénonciateurs peuvent aider la Commission à identifier les fraudes et autres violations possibles beaucoup plus tôt que cela n’aurait été possible autrement. Cela permet à la Commission de minimiser le préjudice causé aux investisseurs, de mieux préserver l’intégrité des marchés de capitaux américains et de responsabiliser plus rapidement les responsables de comportements illégaux.

La Commission est autorisée par le Congrès à accorder des récompenses pécuniaires aux personnes éligibles qui présentent des informations originales de haute qualité qui mènent à une action d’exécution de la Commission dans laquelle plus de 1 000 000 $ de sanctions sont ordonnées. La fourchette des récompenses se situe entre 10% et 30% de l’argent collecté.

Le Bureau du dénonciateur a été créé pour administrer le programme de dénonciation de la SEC. Nous comprenons que la décision de fournir des informations sur la fraude en valeurs mobilières ou d’autres actes répréhensibles n’est pas prise à la légère, et nous sommes là pour répondre à toutes vos questions. Vous pouvez joindre le Bureau du lanceur d’alerte au (202) 551-4790.

————————————————————————————-

Communiqué de presse du SEC – 30/09/20

La Securities and Exchange Commission a annoncé aujourd’hui des récompenses à quatre personnes pour des paiements totaux de près de 5 millions de dollars. Chacun de ces dénonciateurs a fourni des informations essentielles qui ont alerté la Commission sur les actes répréhensibles allégués et ont abouti à des mesures d’exécution réussies. Cette année, la SEC a décerné un nombre record de 39 attributions individuelles d’environ 175 millions de dollars, soit plus qu’au cours de tout exercice précédent.

Dans la première commande, un dénonciateur a reçu près de 2,9 millions de dollars pour avoir alerté la Commission sur des violations difficiles à détecter. Le lanceur d’alerte a fourni des informations essentielles et des preuves à l’appui qui ont économisé du temps et des ressources à la SEC.

Dans la deuxième commande, un lanceur d’alerte, ancien initié de l’entreprise, a reçu plus de 1,7 million de dollars. Ce lanceur d’alerte a fourni une assistance étendue et continue à l’équipe d’enquête au cours de l’enquête.

Dans la troisième ordonnance, deux dénonciateurs ont reçu près de 400 000 dollars pour avoir conjointement fourni un pourboire et fourni une assistance continue au cours de l’enquête, notamment en rencontrant le personnel et en fournissant des informations détaillées qui les ont aidés à comprendre les documents clés et à identifier les témoins. Les dénonciateurs ont également fait part en interne de leurs préoccupations et ont souffert de difficultés personnelles à la suite de ces dénonciations.

<< Aujourd’hui marque la fin d’une année record pour le programme de dénonciation. Nous avons fait des progrès importants pour rationaliser et accélérer davantage l’évaluation des réclamations conformément aux règles, augmentant considérablement le rythme auquel les réclamations des dénonciateurs sont évaluées et les sentences attribuées, », a déclaré Stephanie Avakian, directrice de la Division de l’exécution. « Nous restons déterminés à récompenser les précieuses contributions des lanceurs d’alerte de manière opportune et efficace. »

«Les récompenses décernées le mois dernier démontrent la variété et l’ampleur des conseils reçus des dénonciateurs», a ajouté Jane Norberg, chef du Bureau du dénonciateur de la SEC. « Les lauréats du mois dernier comprennent des personnes extérieures à l’entreprise qui ont fourni des analyses indépendantes, des lanceurs d’alerte internationaux qui ont mis en lumière des comportements difficiles à détecter à l’étranger et des initiés de l’entreprise qui ont fourni des informations critiques et une assistance substantielle qui ont aidé la Commission à mieux protéger les investisseurs et le marché. Et aujourd’hui, les quatre personnes récompensées chacune ont fourni le pourboire qui a déclenché l’ouverture de l’affaire.  »

La SEC a octroyé près de 562 millions de dollars à 106 personnes depuis la publication de son premier prix en 2012. Tous les paiements sont effectués à partir d’un fonds de protection des investisseurs créé par le Congrès et financé entièrement par des sanctions pécuniaires versées à la SEC par des contrevenants aux lois sur les valeurs mobilières. Aucun argent n’a été pris ou retenu aux investisseurs lésés pour payer les récompenses de dénonciateur.

Les lanceurs d’alerte peuvent être éligibles à une récompense lorsqu’ils fournissent volontairement à la SEC des informations originales, opportunes et crédibles qui conduisent à une action d’exécution réussie. Les récompenses des lanceurs d’alerte peuvent aller de 10 à 30% de l’argent collecté lorsque les sanctions pécuniaires dépassent 1 million de dollars.

Comme indiqué dans la loi Dodd-Frank, la SEC protège la confidentialité des dénonciateurs et ne divulgue pas d’informations qui pourraient révéler l’identité d’un dénonciateur.

Site du SEC
https://www.sec.gov/whistleblower

Virginie Gastine Menou
RISQUES ET VOUS
http://www.risquesetvous.fr/
https://www.linkedin.com/company/risques-et-vous

Partagez l’article sur les réseaux !

Articles récents :

Nomination – Elena Sokolovskaya

Risk & Fraud | Payments | Fintech LinkedIn Proposer une offre de job : https://graces.community/recruteurs/Consulter les offres qui vous correspondent : https://job.graces.community/login

fr_FRFrançais
fr_FRFrançais en_USEnglish es_ESEspañol