The challenges of transposing the European directive on whistleblowers

Article published in RSE Magazine on September 23, 2020.

In a context of good governance and more ethics and transparency in business life, the European Union has adopted measures to meet these ambitions. At the end of 2019, it issued a new European Directive on whistleblowers and the use of an ethics whistleblower.

The challenges of transposing the European directive on whistleblowers to a more mature whistleblower system for the Sapin 2 Law:

An ethics whistleblower is the organization of resources and measures to be deployed within companies, allowing all company employees to report to its management all dysfunctions and reprehensible facts that they have witnessed. The reports issued through the alert line can relate to subjects such as crime (corruption, fraud, abuse of corporate assets, etc.); harassment, discrimination, violation of privacy, public health or even environmental aspects: These will therefore be dealt with diligently in order to correct these dysfunctions through remedial actions.

The European Directive on the protection of whistleblowers will enter into force from 2021 for all companies in the 28 member countries. As a first step, companies with more than 250 employees, municipalities with more than 10,000 inhabitants or public law entities will have to comply; while companies with a minimum workforce of 50 employees will benefit from an additional two-year period for implementation.

For most member countries, the deployment of an ethics whistleblower with mechanisms guaranteeing the protection of whistleblowers is a novelty; and the new directive provides all the provisions and guidance on how to implement an effective ethics hotline; whether it is the scope, the procedures for handling reports, the gradual levels of escalation of the alert or the penalties.
For countries which already have regulations in this area, it is now necessary to take into account the characteristics of the directive, during transposition, to ensure that national regulations are in line with the guidelines published by the European Union.

Comparison with the SAPIN 2 law:

This is the case in France, which has regulations and precise conditions for the application and implementation of an ethics whistleblower since the adoption of the SAPIN 2 law of December 2016; whether for the general alert line resulting from articles 6 and 8 of the law, or the alert line as a mandatory measure in the anti-corruption prevention program of Article 17. The reporting system is now well integrated into the compliance landscape in France; with a high application rate for large groups and public organizations, while medium-sized companies comply more slowly but with constant progress.

In essence, the new European directive and the SAPIN 2 law are quite similar, aiming overall to detect and report dysfunctions and reprehensible facts, while protecting the whistleblower at the initiative of raising the whistle. However, certain structuring and non-negligible aspects of the new directive diverge from French regulations; and can be summarized as follows:

Graduated reporting procedure in 2 stages versus 3 stages
French regulations currently provide for a stricter framework, with 3 escalation levels for reports issued by whistleblowers: 1) to the internal organization, 2) to the regulator and competent authorities, 3) to public disclosure. A report cannot be "escalated" to the next level by the whistleblower; only if it has not been properly processed within a reasonable time. In the event of failure to comply with this graduation, the issuer could not then claim the status of whistleblower and the associated legal protection.
The European Directive makes the graduation process more flexible with only 2 stages: 1) internal and external processing (competent authorities), then 2) public disclosure; which is likely to comfort and reassure the whistleblowers under pressure from the hierarchy internally.

Persons eligible for the status and legal protection of the whistleblower
SAPIN 2 provisions grant protection status only to employees (and to a certain extent to external temporary staff); while the new European directive considerably widens the eligible population, including people who assist whistleblowers, i.e. natural and legal persons linked to whistleblowers (facilitators, colleagues, family).

Knowledge of the facts
Currently, protection is granted to whistleblowers in the SAPIN 2 law for reports of facts / malfunctions, of which the whistleblower is personally aware; while the new European directive also relaxes this measure; by extending the status to the whistleblower issuing a report of malfunctions that have been observed by third parties.

The challenges of transposition: encourage whistleblowers to contribute more and promote transparency and ethics in business. From the beginnings of the Sapin 2 law until today, there have been diametrically opposed positions on the characteristics of an alert system, with on the one hand NGOs such as Transparency International or Anticor, wanting less opacity and more social and societal commitment and responsibility; and on the other hand, companies advocating more regulated, more “controlled” transparency.
A 3-step graduation tends to favor this second position; it thus allows organizations to channel and filter fanciful reports and to better control the outcome of an alert. It is an additional leverage granted to companies to deal effectively with reports, while managing the legal and reputational risks that could result from them.

There appears to be a current consensus on a necessary regulatory change, aimed at encouraging the use of the ethics whistleblower and whistleblowers to contribute more to reporting wrongdoing. Numerous initiatives for reflection, conferences and discussions have resulted in the Defender of Rights, an independent administrative authority, formulating a report encouraging the French State to live up to the ambition of the European directive, in particular on the following aspects :
. an extension of the status of whistleblower and associated legal protection, to unions, NGOs, people assisting whistleblowers,
. break the loneliness for the whistleblower, encouraging and supporting him in his process of reflection and issuing a report,
. identify and equip independent and competent organizations to support whistleblowers and create favorable conditions to encourage the process.

The forthcoming transposition of the new directive will undoubtedly be fiercely debated, with the forces involved, when it comes to developing the Sapin 2 law.
But at the same time, it offers a providential opportunity to improve a device, the usefulness of which is now recognized in the French landscape. Changing the principle of the hotline towards a more mature phase means going in the direction of history, towards more transparency and social and societal responsibility.

An article co-authored by:
- Jean-Jacques QUANG, Associate Director - Ethicaline
- Jan Tadeusz STAPPERS, Senior Manager for WhistleB - NAVEX Global

LINK:
https://www.rse-magazine.com/Les-enjeux-de-la-transposition-de-la-directive-europeenne-sur-les-lanceurs-d-alerte-vers-un-dispositif-d-alerte-plus_a3958.html

Share the article on the networks!

Articles recent:

IMF: Fiscal Monitor

Budget action to fight the COVID-19 pandemic
A roadmap for the budgetary measures to be taken during the different phases of the pandemic
Public investments for the recovery

en_USEnglish
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais es_ESEspañol

Les enjeux de la transposition de la directive européenne sur les lanceurs d’alerte

Article publié dans RSE Magazine le 23 septembre 2020.

Dans un contexte de bonne gouvernance et davantage d’éthique et de transparence dans la vie des affaires, L’Union Européenne s’est dotée de mesure à la hauteur de ces ambitions. Fin 2019, elle a émis une nouvelle Directive européenne sur les lanceurs d’alerte et l’utilisation d’une ligne d’alerte éthique.

Les enjeux de la transposition de la directive européenne sur les lanceurs d’alerte, vers un dispositif d’alerte plus mature pour la Loi Sapin 2 :

Une ligne d’alerte éthique, c’est l’organisation de moyens et dispositifs à déployer au sein des entreprises, permettant à tous les collaborateurs en entreprise de reporter à sa Direction tous les dysfonctionnements et faits répréhensibles dont ils auraient été témoins. Les signalements émis à travers la ligne d’alerte peuvent porter sur les sujets tels que délit (corruption, fraude, abus de biens sociaux,…) ; harcèlement, discrimination, violation de la vie privée, santé publique ou encore aspects environnementaux : Ceux-ci seront dès lors traités avec diligence afin de corriger ces dysfonctionnements par des actions de remédiation.

La Directive Européenne sur la protection des lanceurs d’alerte entrera en vigueur dès 2021 pour toutes les entreprises du 28 pays membres. Dans un premier temps, les entreprises ayant un effectif supérieur à 250 salariés, les communes de plus de 10,000 habitants ou entités de droit public devront s’y conformer ; alors que les sociétés avec un effectif minimum de 50 salariés bénéficieront d’une période de deux ans supplémentaires pour la mise en œuvre.

Pour la plupart des pays membres, le déploiement d’une ligne d’alerte éthique avec les mécanismes garantissant la protection des lanceurs d’alerte est une nouveauté ; et la nouvelle directive fournit toutes les dispositions et les orientations sur la manière de mettre en œuvre une ligne d’alerte éthique efficace ; que ce soit le champ d’application, les procédures de traitement des signalements, les paliers graduels de remontée de l’alerte ou encore les sanctions.
Pour les pays ayant d’ores et déjà une réglementation en la matière, il convient désormais de prendre en compte les caractéristiques de la directive, lors de la transposition, pour s’assurer de l’adéquation des réglementations nationales avec les lignes directrices éditées par l’Union Européenne.

Comparatif avec la loi SAPIN 2 :

C’est le cas de la France, ayant une réglementation et des conditions précises d’application et de mise en œuvre d’un ligne d’alerte éthique depuis l’adoption de la loi SAPIN 2 de Décembre 2016 ; que ce soit pour la ligne d’alerte générale issue des articles 6 et 8 de loi, ou la ligne d’alerte en tant que mesure obligatoire dans le programme de prévention anti-corruption de l’article 17. Le dispositif de signalement est désormais bien intégré dans le paysage de la conformité en France ; avec un taux d’application élevé pour les grands groupes et les organisations publiques, tandis que les sociétés de taille moyenne s’y conforment plus lentement mais avec une progression constante.

En substance, la nouvelle directive européenne et la loi SAPIN 2 sont assez similaires, visant globalement à détecter et remonter des dysfonctionnements et des faits répréhensibles, tout en protégeant le lanceur d’alerte à l’initiative de la remontée de l’alerte. Cependant, certains aspects, structurants et non-négligeables, de la nouvelle directive divergent de la réglementation française ; et peuvent être résumés comme suit :

Procédure de signalement graduée en 2 paliers versus 3 paliers
La réglementation français prévoit actuellement un encadrement plus stricte, avec 3 paliers d’escalade pour les signalements émis par les lanceurs d’alerte : 1) à l’organisation interne, 2) au régulateur et autorités compétentes, 3) révélation publique. Un signalement ne peut être « escaladé » au palier supérieur par le lanceur d’alerte; uniquement si celui-ci n’a pas été correctement traité dans un délai raisonnable. En cas de manquement au respect de cette graduation, l’émetteur ne pourrait alors prétendre au statut de lanceur d’alerte et à la protection juridique associée.
La Directive Européenne assouplit le processus de graduation avec seulement 2 paliers : 1) traitement en interne et externe (autorités compétentes), puis 2) révélation publique ; ce qui est de nature à conforter et rassurer les lanceurs d’alerte subissant une pression de la hiérarchie en interne.

Personnes éligibles au statut et à la protection juridique du lanceur d’alerte
Les dispositions SAPIN 2 n’accordent le statut de protection qu’aux employés (et dans une certaine mesure, au personnel intérimaire externe); tandis que la nouvelle directive européenne élargit considérablement la population éligible, englobant les personnes qui assistent les lanceurs d’alerte, c’est-à-dire les personnes physiques et morales liées aux lanceurs d’alerte (facilitateurs, collègues, famille).

Connaissance des faits
Actuellement, la protection est accordée aux lanceurs d’alerte dans la loi SAPIN 2 pour les signalements de faits/dysfonctionnements, dont le lanceur d’alerte a personnellement eu connaissance ; alors que la nouvelle directive européenne assouplit également cette mesure ; en élargissant la statut au lanceur d’alerte émettant un signalement de dysfonctionnements qui auraient été constatés par des tiers.

Les enjeux de la transposition : encourager les lanceurs d’alerte à contribuer davantage et favoriser la transparence et l’éthique dans les affaires. Dès les prémices de la loi Sapin 2 et jusqu’à ce jour, il y a eu des prises de position diamétralement opposées sur les caractéristiques d’un dispositif d’alerte, avec d’une part les ONGs telles que Transparency International ou Anticor, souhaitant moins d’opacité et plus d’engagement et responsabilité sociale et sociétale ; et d’autre part les entreprises prônant une transparence plus encadrée, plus « maîtrisée ».
Une graduation à 3 paliers tend à favoriser cette seconde position ; elle permet ainsi aux organisations de canaliser et filtrer les signalements fantaisistes et de mieux maîtriser l’issue d’une alerte. C’est un levier supplémentaire accordé aux entreprises de traiter efficacement les signalements, tout en gérant les risques légaux et réputationnels qui pourraient en découler.

Il semble y avoir actuellement un consensus sur une évolution nécessaire de la réglementation, visant à encourager l’utilisation de la ligne d’alerte éthique et les lanceurs d’alerte à contribuer davantage au signalement d’actes répréhensibles. De nombreuses initiatives de réflexion, colloques et discussions ont abouti à ce que le Défenseur des Droits, autorité administrative indépendante, formule un rapport encourageant l’Etat français à être à la hauteur de l’ambition de la directive européenne, notamment sur les aspects suivants :
. un élargissement du statut de lanceur d’alerte et la protection légale associée, aux syndicats, ONGs, personnes assistants les lanceurs d’alerte,
. rompre la solitude pour le lanceur d’alerte, encourageant et accompagnant celui-ci dans son processus de réflexion et d’émission un signalement,
. identifier et doter en moyens les organisations indépendantes et compétentes pour accompagner les lanceurs d’alerte et créer les conditions favorables à encourager la démarche.

La transposition à venir de la nouvelle directive sera sans nul doute âprement débattue, avec les forces en présence, lorsqu’il s’agira de faire évoluer la loi Sapin 2.
Mais elle offre dans le même temps une opportunité providentielle d’améliorer un dispositif, dont l’utilité est désormais reconnue dans le paysage français. Faire évoluer le principe de ligne d’alerte vers une phase plus mature, c’est aller dans la sens de l’Histoire, vers plus de transparence et de responsabilité sociale et sociétale.

Un article co-écrit par :
– Jean-Jacques QUANG, Directeur Associé – Ethicaline
– Jan Tadeusz STAPPERS, Senior Manager pour WhistleB – NAVEX Global

LIEN :
https://www.rse-magazine.com/Les-enjeux-de-la-transposition-de-la-directive-europeenne-sur-les-lanceurs-d-alerte-vers-un-dispositif-d-alerte-plus_a3958.html

Partagez l’article sur les réseaux !

Articles récents :

fr_FRFrançais
fr_FRFrançais en_USEnglish es_ESEspañol