OECD - Tax Transparency in Africa 2020 - 2020 edition

The 2020 edition shows significant progress made on the two pillars of the Africa Initiative:

(i) political awareness and commitment in Africa and (ii) capacity development of African countries in terms of tax transparency and information exchange.

25/06/2020 : Africa Tax Transparency 2020, launched today as part of the Africa Initiative, describes the status of 32 African Union member states that are members of the Initiative and three non-members. It shows the progress made on the two cornerstones of the Initiative: (i) political awareness and commitment, and (ii) capacity development in tax transparency and information exchange (EOI). Tax transparency and expression of interest have a crucial role to play in helping African governments to stem illicit financial flows (IFFs) and increase domestic revenue mobilization.

 

  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn

"The current COVID-19 crisis will completely end any tolerance for all forms of tax evasion."

Said Maria José Garde, President of the Global Forum on Transparency and Exchange of Information for Tax Purposes.

Main conclusions of the report

The EOI network of African countries has grown rapidly. It reached 3,262 bilateral relations in 2019, compared to 685 in 2013. This is mainly due to the growing number of countries adhering to the Convention of Mutual Administrative Assistance in Tax Matters. The number of EOI requests sent by African countries has increased eightfold since the launch of the Initiative in 2014. These impressive developments have directly translated into additional tax revenues. Enabling a group of eight African countries to secure $ 189 million in additional revenue between 2014 and 2019.

Encouraging developments have also been observed in the implementation of Automatic Information Exchange (AEOI):

Ghana started trading in 2019, joining Mauritius, Seychelles and South Africa. Nigeria is expected to start in 2020 and Morocco in 2021. Assistance is underway with five countries to help them progress towards the implementation of this standard. Interest in AEOI had been aroused by the remarkable results of voluntary disclosure programs launched before the first exchanges. (with 102 billion euros recovered worldwide, including 82 million dollars in Nigeria and 296 million dollars in South Africa).

Expanding partnerships for tax transparency

Three other African countries joined the Global Forum last year and six added their weight to the Yaoundé Declaration. Active partnerships with:

-the African Union Commission,

-the African Development Bank,

-the African Tax Administration Forum,

-the Circle of Reflection and Exchange of Directors of Tax Administrations,

-the Forum on Tax Administration in West Africa,

-the World Bank Group

have contributed significantly to the fight against FFI and have helped increase political advocacy across the continent.

HE. Professor Victor Harison, Commissioner for Economic Affairs of the African Union Commission, called:

"All member states to participate in international tax cooperation by implementing tax transparency strategies that fight against illicit financial flows (IFFs) and mitigate tax evasion on the continent". He further noted that the mobilization of national resources is essential for the transformation, self-reliance and sovereignty of the continent in order to build an endogenous economy and achieve Agenda 2063.

Remaining challenges

Despite progress, significant challenges remain. Among which :

-extension of staff knowledge,

- the availability of information on the beneficial owners

-effective implementation of EAO.

Thirty training events have been organized since 2015 and more than a thousand officials from 44 African countries have been trained.

According to Mr. Logan Wort, Executive Secretary of ATAF: “Now more than ever, the work to increase transparency is important for Africa, and the collaborative efforts of ATAF and the Global Forum will empower African countries. to increase their exchange of information while contributing to the fight against illicit financial flows. "

The Global Forum and its partners will continue to help African countries resolve outstanding issues and help them bridge the divide with other jurisdictions.

“Tax Transparency in Africa 2020” is a joint publication of the Global Forum on Transparency and Information Exchange for Tax Purposes, the African Union Commission and the African Tax Administration Forum. It is the result of the Africa Initiative that the African Development Bank, the Cercle de Réflexion et d'Échange des Dirigeants des Administrations Fiscales, the Forum de l'Administration Fiscale en West Africa and the Bank Group world also argue. The Africa Initiative is financially supported by the European Union:

  • France (Ministry of Europe and Foreign Affairs),
  • Norway (Norwegian Agency for Cooperation and Development),
  • Switzerland (State Secretariat for Economic Affairs),
  • the United Kingdom (Department for International Development).

http://www.oecd.org/tax/transparency/documents/Tax-Transparency-in-Africa-2020.pdf

Virginie Gastine Menou
RISKS AND YOU

http://www.risquesetvous.fr/
https://www.linkedin.com/company/risques-et-vous

Share the article on the networks!

Articles recent:

en_USEnglish
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais es_ESEspañol

OCDE – Transparence fiscale en Afrique 2020 – édition 2020

L’édition 2020 montre des progrès significatifs réalisés sur les deux piliers de l’Initiative Afrique:

(i) la sensibilisation et l’engagement politiques en Afrique et (ii) le développement des capacités des pays africains en matière de transparence fiscale et d’échange d’informations.

25/06/2020 : La transparence fiscale en Afrique 2020, lancée aujourd’hui dans le cadre de l’Initiative Afrique, décrit l’état d’avancement de 32 États membres de l’Union africaine, membres de l’Initiative et de trois non-membres. Il montre les progrès réalisés sur les deux pierres angulaires de l’Initiative: (i) la sensibilisation et l’engagement politiques, et (ii) le développement des capacités en matière de transparence fiscale et d’échange d’informations (EOI). La transparence fiscale et la déclaration d’intérêt ont un rôle crucial à jouer pour aider les gouvernements africains à endiguer les flux financiers illicites (FFI) et à accroître la mobilisation des recettes nationales.

 

  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn

«La crise actuelle du COVID-19 mettra fin complètement à toute tolérance à l’égard de toutes les formes d’évasion fiscale».

A déclaré Maria José Garde, présidente du Forum mondial sur la transparence et l’échange d’informations à des fins fiscales.

Principales conclusions du rapport

Le réseau EOI des pays africains s’est rapidement développé. Il a atteint 3 262 relations bilatérales en 2019, contre 685 en 2013. Ceci est principalement dû au nombre croissant de pays adhérant à la Convention d’assistance administrative mutuelle en matière fiscale. Le nombre de demandes d’EOI envoyées par les pays africains a été multiplié par huit depuis le lancement de l’Initiative en 2014. Ces développements impressionnants se sont directement traduits par des recettes fiscales supplémentaires. Permettant à un groupe de huit pays africains de sécuriser 189 millions USD de revenus supplémentaires entre 2014 et 2019.

Des évolutions encourageantes ont également été observées dans la mise en œuvre de l’échange automatique d’informations (AEOI):

Le Ghana a commencé à échanger en 2019, rejoignant Maurice, les Seychelles et l’Afrique du Sud. Le Nigeria devrait démarrer en 2020 et le Maroc en 2021. Une assistance est en cours avec cinq pays pour les aider à progresser vers la mise en œuvre de cette norme. L’intérêt pour l’AEOI avait été éveillé par les résultats remarquables des programmes de divulgation volontaire lancés avant les premiers échanges. (avec 102 milliards d’euros récupérés dans le monde, dont 82 millions de dollars au Nigéria et 296 millions de dollars en Afrique du Sud).

Élargir les partenariats pour la transparence fiscale

Trois autres pays africains ont rejoint le Forum mondial l’année dernière et six ont ajouté leur poids à la Déclaration de Yaoundé. Des partenariats actifs avec :

-la Commission de l’Union africaine,

-la Banque africaine de développement,

-le Forum de l’administration fiscale africaine,

-le Cercle de Réflexion et d’Échange des Dirigeants des Administrations Fiscales,

-le Forum sur l’administration fiscale en Afrique de l’Ouest,

-le Groupe de la Banque mondiale

ont largement contribué à la lutte contre FFI et ont contribué à accroître le plaidoyer politique à travers le continent.

IL. Le professeur Victor Harison, commissaire aux affaires économiques de la Commission de l’Union africaine, a appelé :

«tous les États membres à participer à la coopération fiscale internationale en mettant en œuvre des stratégies de transparence fiscale qui luttent contre les flux financiers illicites (FFI) et atténuent la fraude fiscale sur le continent». Il a en outre noté que la mobilisation des ressources nationales est essentielle pour la transformation, l’autosuffisance et la souveraineté du continent afin de construire une économie endogène et de réaliser l’Agenda 2063.

Défis restants

Malgré les progrès, d’importants défis restent à relever. Parmi lesquels :

-l’élargissement des connaissances du personnel,

-la disponibilité des informations sur les bénéficiaires effectifs

-la mise en œuvre efficace de l’EAO.

Trente événements de formation ont été organisés depuis 2015 et plus d’un millier de fonctionnaires de 44 pays africains ont été formés.

Selon M. Logan Wort, Secrétaire exécutif de l’ATAF : «maintenant plus que jamais, le travail visant à accroître la transparence est important pour l’Afrique, et les efforts de collaboration de l’ATAF et du Forum mondial permettront aux pays africains d’accroître leurs échanges d’informations tout en contribuant à la lutte contre les flux financiers illicites. »

Le Forum mondial et ses partenaires continueront d’aider les pays africains à résoudre les problèmes en suspens et à les aider à combler le fossé avec d’autres juridictions.

« Tax Transparency in Africa 2020 » est une publication conjointe du Forum mondial sur la transparence et l’échange d’informations à des fins fiscales, de la Commission de l’Union africaine et du Forum de l’administration fiscale africaine. C’est le résultat de l’Initiative Afrique que la Banque africaine de développement, le Cercle de Réflexion et d’Échange des Dirigeants des Administrations Fiscales, le Forum de l’Administration Fiscale en Afrique de l’Ouest et le Groupe de la Banque mondiale soutiennent également. L’Initiative Afrique est soutenue financièrement par l’Union européenne :

  • la France (Ministère de l’Europe et des Affaires étrangères),
  • la Norvège (Agence norvégienne de coopération et de développement),
  • la Suisse (Secrétariat d’État à l’économie),
  • le Royaume-Uni (Département du développement international).

http://www.oecd.org/tax/transparency/documents/Tax-Transparency-in-Africa-2020.pdf

Virginie Gastine Menou
RISQUES ET VOUS

http://www.risquesetvous.fr/
https://www.linkedin.com/company/risques-et-vous

Partagez l’article sur les réseaux !

Articles récents :

Nomination – Elena Sokolovskaya

Risk & Fraud | Payments | Fintech LinkedIn Proposer une offre de job : https://graces.community/recruteurs/Consulter les offres qui vous correspondent : https://job.graces.community/login

fr_FRFrançais
fr_FRFrançais en_USEnglish es_ESEspañol