WTO: Statistical Review of World Trade 2020

The World Trade Organization is an organization that deals with trade openness.

It is a place where governments negotiate trade agreements. It is a place where they settle their trade disputes. It is an organization that administers a set of business rules.

The WTO is essentially a place for Member governments to try to resolve trade issues between them.

The WTO was born out of negotiations, and everything it does is the result of negotiations. Most of its activities have their origins in the so-called Uruguay Round negotiations, which took place from 1986 to 1994, and in previous negotiations under the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (GATT ).

New negotiations are now taking place at the WTO, as part of the “Doha Development Agenda” launched in 2001. When countries encountered barriers to trade that they wanted to reduce, negotiations made it possible to open up markets. But opening up markets is not the only objective of the WTO. Indeed, in certain circumstances, its rules call for the maintenance of barriers to trade - for example to protect consumers or prevent the spread of disease.

At the heart of the system are the WTO Agreements, which have been negotiated and signed by most of the world's trading nations. These texts set out the fundamental legal rules governing international trade. These are basically contracts that oblige governments to keep their trade policies within agreed limits. Although they have been negotiated and signed by governments, their purpose is to help producers of goods and services, exporters and importers to operate, while enabling governments to achieve social and environmental goals. . The overarching aim of the system is to make trade as free as possible - as long as this has no unwanted side effects - as this is important for economic development and well-being. In part, this involves removing obstacles. But we also need to ensure that individuals, businesses and governments know what trade rules are being applied around the world and have confidence that they will not be changed abruptly.

In other words, the rules must be “transparent” and predictable. Often, business relationships involve competing interests. Agreements, including those barely negotiated in the WTO, often need to be interpreted. The most harmonious way to resolve these differences is to have recourse to a neutral procedure based on agreed legal bases. This is the purpose of the dispute settlement process provided for in the WTO Agreements.

Organization of the searchable report by section online:

I. Introduction - Acknowledgments - Message from the Director General, Roberto Azevêdo

II. Main data on world trade in 2019 - World trade in 2019 - World merchandise trade in 2019 - World exports of commercial services in 2019 - Main trading nations of the world - Least developed countries - Data in Excel format

III. World trade and GDP, 2019-20 - World trade and GDP - Merchandise trade volume - Commodity prices - Exchange rates - World trade value - COVID-19 and trade - Outlook for 2020 - Data as of Excel format

IV. Evolution of the structure of trade - Trade in goods - Trade in services - Global supply chains for chemicals and pharmaceuticals - Statistical reports - Data in Excel format

V. Composition, definitions and methodology - Composition of geographic and economic groupings - Definitions and methodology - Notes on certain economies - Statistical sources - Abbreviations and symbols

VI. Statistical tables - Data in Excel format

Download the report: https://www.wto.org/french/res_f/statis_f/wts2020_f/wts2020_f.pdf

Virginie Gastine Menou

RISKS AND YOU

http://www.risquesetvous.fr/

https://www.linkedin.com/company/risques-et-vous

Share the article on the networks!

Articles recent:

IMF: Fiscal Monitor

Budget action to fight the COVID-19 pandemic
A roadmap for the budgetary measures to be taken during the different phases of the pandemic
Public investments for the recovery

en_USEnglish
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais es_ESEspañol

OMC : Examen statistique du commerce mondial 2020

L’Organisation Mondiale du Commerce est une organisation qui s’occupe de l’ouverture commerciale.

C’est une enceinte où les gouvernements négocient des accords commerciaux. C’est un lieu où ils règlent leurs différends commerciaux. C’est une organisation qui administre un ensemble de règles commerciales.

L’OMC est essentiellement un lieu où les gouvernements Membres tentent de régler les problèmes commerciaux qui les opposent.

L’OMC est née de négociations, et tout ce qu’elle fait est le résultat de négociations. La plupart de ses activités ont leur origine dans les négociations dites du Cycle d’Uruguay, qui se sont déroulées de 1986 à 1994, et dans les négociations menées antérieurement dans le cadre de l’Accord général sur les tarifs douaniers et le commerce (GATT).

De nouvelles négociations ont lieu maintenant à l’OMC, dans le cadre du “Programme de Doha pour le développement” lancé en 2001. Quand les pays se sont heurtés à des obstacles au commerce qu’ils voulaient réduire, les négociations ont permis d’ouvrir les marchés. Mais l’ouverture des marchés n’est pas le seul objectif de l’OMC. En effet, dans certaines circonstances, ses règles préconisent le maintien d’obstacles au commerce — par exemple pour protéger les consommateurs ou empêcher la propagation de maladies.

Au coeur du système, il y a les Accords de l’OMC, qui ont été négociés et signés par la plupart des nations commerçantes du monde. Ces textes énoncent les règles juridiques fondamentales régissant le commerce international. Il s’agit essentiellement de contrats qui obligent les gouvernements à maintenir leurs politiques commerciales dans les limites convenues. Bien qu’ils aient été négociés et signés par les gouvernements, leur but est d’aider les producteurs de biens et de services, les exportateurs et les importateurs à exercer leurs activités, tout en permettant aux gouvernements d’atteindre des objectifs sociaux et environnementaux. Le but primordial du système est de faire en sorte que le commerce soit aussi libre que possible – dès lors que cela n’a pas d’effets secondaires indésirables – car cela est important pour le développement économique et le bien-être. Cela passe en partie par la suppression des obstacles. Mais il faut aussi veiller à ce que les individus, les entreprises et les gouvernements sachent quelles règles commerciales sont appliquées dans le monde et aient l’assurance qu’elles ne seront pas modifiées brusquement.

Autrement dit, les règles doivent être “transparentes” et prévisibles. Bien souvent, les relations commerciales mettent en jeu des intérêts contradictoires. Les accords, y compris ceux qui sont négociés à grand-peine dans le cadre de l’OMC, ont souvent besoin d’être interprétés. La façon la plus harmonieuse de régler ces divergences est de recourir à une procédure neutre reposant sur des bases juridiques convenues. C’est le but du processus de règlement des différends prévu dans les Accords de l’OMC.

Organisation du rapport consultable par rubrique en ligne :

I. Introduction – Remerciements – Message du Directeur général, Roberto Azevêdo

II. Principales données sur le commerce mondial en 2019 – Commerce mondial en 2019 – Commerce mondial des marchandises en 2019 – Exportations mondiales de services commerciaux en 2019 – Principales nations commerçantes du monde – Pays les moins avancés – Données au format Excel

III. Commerce mondial et PIB,, 2019-20 – Commerce mondial et PIB – Volume du commerce des marchandises – Prix des produits de base – Taux de change – Valeur du commerce mondial – La COVID-19 et le commerce – Perspectives pour 2020 – Données au format Excel

IV. Évolution de la structure des échanges – Commerce des marchandises – Commerce des services – Chaînes d’approvisionnement mondiales pour les produits chimiques et pharmaceutiques – Rapports statistiques – Données au format Excel

V. Composition, définitions et méthodologie – Composition des groupements géographiques et économiques – Définitions et méthodologie – Notes concernant certaines économies – Sources statistiques – Abréviations et symboles

VI. Tableaux des statistiques – Données au format Excel

Téléchargez le rapport : https://www.wto.org/french/res_f/statis_f/wts2020_f/wts2020_f.pdf

Virginie Gastine Menou

RISQUES ET VOUS

http://www.risquesetvous.fr/

https://www.linkedin.com/company/risques-et-vous

Partagez l’article sur les réseaux !

Articles récents :

fr_FRFrançais
fr_FRFrançais en_USEnglish es_ESEspañol