Protecting whistleblowers: a European challenge - by the Defender of Rights

In France, the Defender of Rights, an independent administrative authority, is competent to guide and protect whistleblowers since the law of December 9, 2016 on transparency, the fight against corruption and the modernization of economic life. Three years after the entry into force of this device and two years before the implementation of the European directive, the Defender of Rights is organizing its European meeting “Protecting whistleblowers: a European challenge”.

This meeting brought together around three round tables whistleblowers, sociologists, lawyers, practitioners and public authorities from different European countries. The objective was not only to highlight the challenges, strengths and weaknesses of the protection regimes for whistleblowers established in the European Union, but also to suggest avenues for improving them and guaranteeing whistleblowers. a high level of protection.

At a time when all the member countries of the Union are called upon to transpose the European directive, it seems important to bring out from these exchanges the general recommendations, sometimes divergent, which were mentioned by all the speakers, including the Defender of rights.

These recommendations, which aim to promote the development of alerts and improve the protection of whistleblowers by institutions offering certain guarantees, are likely to guide the implementation of the transposition of the European directive and the application of the legislation which will result. They call for important choices that it will be up to States, and in particular to France, to make in order to offer whistleblowers a safe, understandable and truly protective framework.

Definition of whistleblower:

Whistleblowers are people who report wrongdoing that they have observed in the course of their work and that is likely to harm the public interest, for example by causing damage to the environment, public health and consumer safety as well as public finances.

The protection of whistleblowers is currently fragmentary. Currently, only 10 EU countries have comprehensive whistleblower protection legislation. At EU level, it is only in a limited number of sectors (mainly in the area of financial services) that there is legislation including measures to protect whistleblowers.

According to a study carried out in 2017 for the European Commission, the potential loss of benefits due to the lack of protection for whistleblowers would be between 5.8 and 9.6 billion euros per year for the whole of the 'EU, only in the field of public procurement.

  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn

Acts
https://www.defenseurdesdroits.fr/sites/default/files/atoms/files/ddd_colloque-lanceurs-alertes_03-12-209_actes_04-06-2020.pdf

Synthesis
https://www.defenseurdesdroits.fr/sites/default/files/atoms/files/ddd_colloque-lanceurs-alertes_03-12-2019_synthese_04-06-2020.pdf

Virginie Gastine Menou
RISKS AND YOU

http://www.risquesetvous.fr/
https://www.linkedin.com/company/risques-et-vous

Share the article on the networks!

Articles recent:

IMF: Fiscal Monitor

Budget action to fight the COVID-19 pandemic
A roadmap for the budgetary measures to be taken during the different phases of the pandemic
Public investments for the recovery

en_USEnglish
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais es_ESEspañol

Protéger les lanceurs d’alerte : un défi européen – par le Défenseur Des Droits

En France, le Défenseur des droits, autorité administrative indépendante, est compétent pour orienter et protéger les lanceurs d’alerte depuis la loi du 9 décembre 2016 relative à la transparence, à la lutte contre la corruption et à la modernisation de la vie économique. Trois ans après l’entrée en vigueur de ce dispositif et deux ans avant la mise en œuvre de la directive européenne, le Défenseur des droits organise sa rencontre européenne « Protéger les lanceurs d’alerte : un défi européen ».

Cette rencontre a réuni autour de trois tables rondes lanceurs d’alerte, sociologues, juristes, praticiens et autorités publiques de pays européens différents. L’objectif était non seulement de mettre en lumière les enjeux, les forces et les faiblesses des régimes de protection des lanceurs d’alerte instaurés dans l’Union européenne, mais aussi de proposer des pistes pour les améliorer et garantir aux lanceurs d’alerte un haut niveau de protection.

À l’heure où tous les pays membres de l’Union sont appelés à transposer la directive européenne, il apparaît important de faire ressortir de ces échanges les préconisations générales, parfois divergentes, qui ont été évoquées par l’ensemble des intervenants, dont le Défenseur des droits.

Ces préconisations, qui visent à favoriser le développement des alertes et à améliorer la protection des lanceurs d’alerte par des institutions présentant certaines garanties sont susceptibles de guider la mise en œuvre de la transposition de la directive européenne et l’application de la législation qui en résultera. Elles appellent des choix importants qu’il incombera aux États, et en particulier à la France, de réaliser de façon à offrir aux lanceurs d’alerte un cadre sécurisant, lisible et véritablement protecteur.

Définition du lanceur d’alerte :

Les lanceurs d’alerte sont des personnes qui dénoncent des actes répréhensibles qu’elles ont constatés dans le cadre de leur travail et qui sont susceptibles de porter atteinte à l’intérêt public, par exemple en causant des dommages à l’environnement, à la santé publique et à la sécurité des consommateurs ainsi qu’aux finances publiques.

La protection des lanceurs d’alerte est actuellement fragmentaire. À l’heure actuelle, seuls 10 pays de l’UE disposent d’une législation complète en matière de protection des lanceurs d’alerte. Au niveau de l’UE, ce n’est que dans un nombre limité de secteurs (essentiellement dans le domaine des services financiers) qu’il existe une législation comprenant des mesures destinées à protéger les lanceurs d’alerte.

Selon une étude réalisée en 2017 pour la Commission européenne, la perte de bénéfices potentiels due à l’absence de protection des lanceurs d’alerte se situerait entre 5,8 et 9,6 milliards d’euros par an pour l’ensemble de l’UE, dans le seul domaine des marchés publics.

  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn

Actes
https://www.defenseurdesdroits.fr/sites/default/files/atoms/files/ddd_colloque-lanceurs-alertes_03-12-209_actes_04-06-2020.pdf

Synthèse
https://www.defenseurdesdroits.fr/sites/default/files/atoms/files/ddd_colloque-lanceurs-alertes_03-12-2019_synthese_04-06-2020.pdf

Virginie Gastine Menou
RISQUES ET VOUS

http://www.risquesetvous.fr/
https://www.linkedin.com/company/risques-et-vous

Partagez l’article sur les réseaux !

Articles récents :

Nomination – Elena Sokolovskaya

Risk & Fraud | Payments | Fintech LinkedIn Proposer une offre de job : https://graces.community/recruteurs/Consulter les offres qui vous correspondent : https://job.graces.community/login

fr_FRFrançais
fr_FRFrançais en_USEnglish es_ESEspañol