European and international banking and financial regulation

Thierry Bonneau (Author) 5th edition Published on July 1, 2020 Study (paperback)

The issue of banking and financial regulation is not recent. However, it has taken on a new dimension since the crisis of September-October 2008, followed shortly after by the Madoff affair and, in 2010-2011, by the sovereign debt crisis. These events affected a number of countries and led to reviewing and deepening the rules applicable to the banking and financial sector, in order to preserve, in a world without borders, the security and stability of markets, players and States. Being observed that we wonder if we are better protected today than in 2008: the answer is controversial!

Safety is one of the major themes of regulation, but it is not the only one: integrity and transparency are others. We could also cite customer protection, new technologies and sustainable development, themes which have been gaining momentum for several years. Which is not surprising due to globalization. This explains why the national response alone is insufficient: a European and international response is essential.

Little is known about the players in the European and international framework. It is therefore important to devote further development to it - the European supervisory authorities (ESAs), the Banking Union and the “different Gs”, such as the G20, are studied in particular - even if the responses provided by the European authorities and international are the essence of the book, it highlighting both the work of the Basel Committee, IOSCO, the FATF and the FSB as the European texts of levels 1 (European Parliament and Council), 2 (European Commission) and 3 (AES).

The benefits of this new edition are, in addition to the Covid-19, of three types:
- the latest reforms, in particular the texts concerning ESAs (December 18, 2019), the prudential supervision of investment firms (November 27, 2019) and central counterparties (October 23, 2019), covered bonds (November 27, 2019), sustainability information (November 27, 2019) and sustainable benchmarks (November 27, 2019);
- the decisions rendered by the CJEU and the TEU as well as by the ESAs concerning, for example, the prudential regulation of credit institutions (7 August 2018, aff. C-52/17; 13 July 2018, aff. T-768 / 16), the cost of credit in the event of early repayment of the credit (September 11, 2019, case C-383/18), the mention of the APR in the credit agreement (December 19, 2019, case C-290/19) , the consumer quality of CFD buyers (October 3, 2019, case C-208/18), the challenge to the downgrading of the scale of credit ratings within the framework of prudential regulations (EBA, BoA-D- 2019-05), the sanction of companies issuing credit ratings without being rating agencies (decision 2019/4, ESMA41-139-1231);
- enrichment of the “Debates, Studies, Focus, Moods, Readings and Opinions” sections: for example, professional secrecy provided for by MiFID texts to the test of European case law, access to ECB documents, legitimate behavior and pre-takeover pickup, supervisory briefings, Innovation hubs, Regulatory sandboxes and Stablecoins.

Order it here: https://www.lgdj.fr/regulation-bancaire-et-financiere-europeenne-et-internationale-9782802766582.html

Share the article on the networks!

Articles recent:

IMF: Fiscal Monitor

Budget action to fight the COVID-19 pandemic
A roadmap for the budgetary measures to be taken during the different phases of the pandemic
Public investments for the recovery

en_USEnglish
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais es_ESEspañol

Régulation bancaire et financière européenne et internationale

Thierry Bonneau (Auteur) 5e édition Paru le 1 juillet 2020 Etude (broché)

La question de la régulation bancaire et financière n’est pas récente. Elle a toutefois pris une ampleur nouvelle depuis la crise de septembre-octobre 2008, suivie peu de temps après par l’affaire Madoff et, en 2010-2011, par la crise de la dette souveraine. Ces événements ont affecté nombre de pays et ont conduit à revoir et à approfondir les règles applicables au secteur bancaire et financier, cela afin de préserver, dans un monde sans frontière, la sécurité et la stabilité des marchés, des acteurs et des États. Étant observé que l’on se demande si l’on est mieux protégé aujourd’hui qu’en 2008 : la réponse est controversée !

La sécurité est l’un des thèmes majeurs de la régulation, mais il n’est pas le seul : l’intégrité et la transparence en sont d’autres. On pourrait encore citer la protection des clients, les nouvelles technologies et le développement durable, thèmes qui montent, depuis plusieurs années, en puissance. Ce qui n’est pas étonnant en raison de la globalisation. Cela explique que la seule réponse nationale est insuffisante : une réponse européenne et internationale est indispensable.

Les acteurs de l’encadrement européen et international sont peu connus. Aussi est-il important d’y consacrer des développements – sont notamment étudiés les autorités européennes de surveillance (AES), l’Union bancaire et les « différents G », tels que le G 20 – même si les réponses apportées par les autorités européennes et internationales constituent l’essentiel de l’ouvrage, celui-ci mettant en lumière tant les travaux du Comité de Bâle, de l’OICV, du GAFI et du FSB que les textes européens des niveaux 1 (Parlement européen et Conseil), 2 (Commission européenne) et 3 (AES).

Les plus-values de cette nouvelle édition sont, outre le Covid-19, de trois ordres :
– les dernières réformes, en particulier les textes concernant les AES (18 décembre 2019), la surveillance prudentielle des entreprises d’investissement (27 novembre 2019) et des contreparties centrales (23 octobre 2019), les covered bonds (27 novembre 2019), l’information en matière durabilité (27 novembre 2019) et les indices de références durables (27 novembre 2019) ;
– les décisions rendues tant par la CJUE et le TUE que par les AES concernant, par exemple, la réglementation prudentielle des établissements de crédit (7 août 2018, aff. C-52/17 ; 13 juillet 2018, aff. T-768/16), le coût du crédit en cas de remboursement anticipé du crédit (11 septembre 2019, aff. C-383/18), la mention du TAEG dans le contrat de crédit (19 décembre 2019, aff. C-290/19), la qualité de consommateur des acheteurs de CFD (3 octobre 2019, aff. C-208/18), la contestation de la dégradation de l’échelle des notations de crédit dans le cadre de la réglementation prudentielle (EBA, BoA-D-2019-05), la sanction des entreprises émettant des notations de crédit sans être agences de notation (décision 2019/4, ESMA41-139-1231) ;
– l’enrichissement des rubriques « Débats, Études, Focus, Humeurs, Lectures et Opinions » : par exemple, le secret professionnel prévu par les textes MIF à l’épreuve de la jurisprudence européenne, l’accès aux documents de la BCE, les comportements légitimes et le ramassage pré-OPA, les « supervisory briefings », les « Innovation hubs », les « Regulatory sandboxes » et les Stablecoins.

Commandez le ici : https://www.lgdj.fr/regulation-bancaire-et-financiere-europeenne-et-internationale-9782802766582.html

Partagez l’article sur les réseaux !

Articles récents :

Nomination – Elena Sokolovskaya

Risk & Fraud | Payments | Fintech LinkedIn Proposer une offre de job : https://graces.community/recruteurs/Consulter les offres qui vous correspondent : https://job.graces.community/login

fr_FRFrançais
fr_FRFrançais en_USEnglish es_ESEspañol