New guide highlights links between fight against corruption and respect for human rights

By Matthias Thorns
Deputy Secretary General, OIE

Business at OECD and the OIE publish one of the first guides to help businesses take advantage of the links between the fight against corruption and respect for human rights.

The International Organization of Employers (IOE) and Business at OECD (BIAC) have just published the document entitled “Connecting the anti-corruption and human rights agendas: Guide for business and employers' organizations” (Connecting the fight against corruption and respect for human rights: a guide for businesses and employers' organizations).

Acts of corruption and human rights violations have many root causes in common, they often occur in regions plagued by governance problems, and they similarly threaten the reputation of companies, their financial stability, their operation and legal certainty.

The fight against corruption and human rights violations, however, often involves different actors, as well as different laws, regulatory considerations, standards and business practices. As a result, governments and businesses often adopt distinct - and often even siled - approaches, limiting the possibility of a common response to these daunting challenges for society.

The new guide from the OIE and Business at OECD aims to break down this silo and present companies with non-binding solutions on how to make links between human rights issues and the fight against corruption, while recognizing that there is no one-size-fits-all solution.

More specifically, this guide suggests avenues for companies to take advantage of existing synergies, implement a more coordinated approach to risk assessment, where appropriate, and encourage the sharing of experiences and information between anti-corruption actors and those working in the field of human rights, by drawing up a list of self-assessment questions.

It also provides an overview of the wide range of instruments and resources that exist in the areas of anti-corruption and respect for human rights. The guide gives examples of companies that have already taken a more coordinated approach to human rights and anti-corruption issues in their activities.

This joint publication by Business at OECD and the OIE complements recent work in this area, including the report of the United Nations working group on human rights and business to the Council. of Human Rights, published in July 2020.

Business at OECD and the OIE will regularly update the document to reflect policy developments and lessons learned by businesses in managing risks related to corruption and human rights violations.

Download the guide
https://www.ioe-emp.org/index.php?eID=dumpFile&t=f&f=147731&token=c0fecaf2120d7faf7e4214377a1754ab8170fd88

Virginie Gastine Menou
RISKS AND YOU
http://www.risquesetvous.fr/
https://www.linkedin.com/company/risques-et-vous

Share the article on the networks!

Articles recent:

IMF: Fiscal Monitor

Budget action to fight the COVID-19 pandemic
A roadmap for the budgetary measures to be taken during the different phases of the pandemic
Public investments for the recovery

en_USEnglish
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais es_ESEspañol

Un nouveau guide met en évidence les liens entre la lutte contre la corruption et le respect des droits de l’homme

Par Matthias Thorns
Secrétaire général adjoint, OIE

Business at OECD et l’OIE publient un des premiers guides visant à aider les entreprises à tirer parti des liens entre la lutte contre la corruption et le respect des droits de l’homme.

L’Organisation internationale des employeurs (OIE) et Business at OECD (BIAC) viennent de publier le document intitulé « Connecting the anti-corruption and human rights agendas: Guide for business and employers’ organizations » (Connecter la lutte contre la corruption et le respect des droits de l’homme : un guide pour les entreprises et les organisations d’employeurs).

Les actes de corruption et les violations des droits de l’homme ont de nombreuses causes profondes en commun, ils surviennent souvent dans des régions en proie à des problèmes de gouvernance, et ils menacent de manière similaire la réputation des entreprises, leur stabilité financière, leur fonctionnement et leur sécurité juridique.

La lutte contre la corruption et les violations des droits de l’homme font toutefois souvent intervenir différents acteurs, ainsi que différentes lois, considérations réglementaires, normes et pratiques d’entreprise. En conséquence, ce sont fréquemment des approches distinctes – et souvent même cloisonnées – qu’adoptent les gouvernements et les entreprises, ce qui limite la possibilité d’apporter une réponse commune à ces défis de taille pour la société.

Le nouveau guide de l’OIE et de Business at OECD vise à éliminer ce cloisonnement et à présenter aux entreprises des solutions non contraignantes quant à la manière d’opérer des liens entre les questions liées aux droits de l’homme et la lutte contre la corruption, tout en reconnaissant qu’il n’existe pas de solution universelle.

Plus précisément, ce guide propose aux entreprises des pistes pour tirer parti des synergies existantes, mettre en œuvre une approche plus coordonnée de l’évaluation des risques, lorsqu’il y a lieu, et encourager le partage d’expériences et d’informations entre les acteurs de la lutte contre la corruption et ceux qui travaillent dans le domaine des droits de l’homme, en dressant une liste de questions d’auto-évaluation.

Il offre en outre un aperçu du vaste éventail d’instruments et de ressources qui existent dans les domaines de la lutte contre la corruption et du respect des droits de l’homme. Le guide donne des exemples d’entreprises ayant déjà opté pour une approche plus coordonnée des questions liées aux droits de l’homme et à la lutte contre la corruption dans leurs activités.

Cette publication conjointe de Business at OECD et de l’OIE vient compléter de récents travaux réalisés dans ce domaine, notamment le rapport du groupe de travail de l’Organisation des Nations Unies sur la question des droits de l’homme et des entreprises au Conseil des droits de l’homme, publié en juillet 2020.

Business at OECD et l’OIE actualiseront régulièrement le document, afin d’y refléter les évolutions des politiques et les enseignements tirés par les entreprises dans la gestion des risques liés à la corruption et aux violations des droits de l’homme.

Téléchargez le guide
https://www.ioe-emp.org/index.php?eID=dumpFile&t=f&f=147731&token=c0fecaf2120d7faf7e4214377a1754ab8170fd88

Virginie Gastine Menou
RISQUES ET VOUS
http://www.risquesetvous.fr/
https://www.linkedin.com/company/risques-et-vous

Partagez l’article sur les réseaux !

Articles récents :

Nomination – Elena Sokolovskaya

Risk & Fraud | Payments | Fintech LinkedIn Proposer une offre de job : https://graces.community/recruteurs/Consulter les offres qui vous correspondent : https://job.graces.community/login

fr_FRFrançais
fr_FRFrançais en_USEnglish es_ESEspañol